Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes

    Changing a Bacnet point from read only

    Hi,
    We are integrating two new Carrier 48n with OPN-UPC Bacnet cards into a Jace 6 running 3.6.31.
    I'm having trouble changing the points from Read only to read/write. I can discover the point, add it to the database and ensure that it is enable. I can't get the points into the database as writeable. Is there something that I'm missing or is it a switch in the OPN-UPC board that needs to be changed?

    Thank you in advance

    tgwolf

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    119
    Post Likes
    Read/write functionality is set within the UPC program itself. It's not something you can change via an integration.

    Is there another, similar point with r/w capability in the points list (if you have it)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes
    did you change from numeric to "numeric writable" when discovering on the jace? did it indicate write access denied when attempting to do a set-point action etc?

  4. Likes tgwolf, Ricky441 liked this post.
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by roverXE View Post
    did you change from numeric to "numeric writable" when discovering on the jace? did it indicate write access denied when attempting to do a set-point action etc?
    Thanks roverXE,
    That did the trick. I must have looked at that hundred times. I need more practice

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    435
    Post Likes
    Make sure you're looking at the right point. As loopypid said, if it's a read only point you're not going to be able to write to it.
    Do you have the BACnet point list? It will tell you if it's read only or r/w.
    Otherwise, let me know the point name and I'll look it up for you.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by bacnet>CCN View Post
    Make sure you're looking at the right point. As loopypid said, if it's a read only point you're not going to be able to write to it.
    Do you have the BACnet point list? It will tell you if it's read only or r/w.
    Otherwise, let me know the point name and I'll look it up for you.
    Yes we have the operational manual and I downloaded the points list from HVAC Partners. I was having problems trying to write to duct static "sa_static_stpt_1".

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    74
    Post Likes

  9. Likes loopypid, tgwolf liked this post.
  10. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thank you all for the help and support.

    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

  11. Likes loopypid liked this post.
  12. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by bacnet>CCN View Post
    Make sure you're looking at the right point. As loopypid said, if it's a read only point you're not going to be able to write to it.
    Do you have the BACnet point list? It will tell you if it's read only or r/w.
    Otherwise, let me know the point name and I'll look it up for you.
    Have another question. Does the rmtin_1 point (BV81) need to be enable in the equipment before I can write to it?


    Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    18
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by tgwolf View Post
    Hi,
    We are integrating two new Carrier 48n with OPN-UPC Bacnet cards into a Jace 6 running 3.6.31.
    I'm having trouble changing the points from Read only to read/write. I can discover the point, add it to the database and ensure that it is enable. I can't get the points into the database as writeable. Is there something that I'm missing or is it a switch in the OPN-UPC board that needs to be changed?

    Thank you in advance

    tgwolf
    carriers are very finicky in my experience usually give it a S/S and a setpoint and let them do as they please. If the carrier card isn't letting you write to it it is gonna be a setting on the carrier unit that enables it to be a read/write instead of just read

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    435
    Post Likes
    The remote input state (BV:81) is a writable point by default, but you'll need to have the remote switch configuration point setup as well, if it's not.

    Thru the comfort link - Unit-RM.CF is the setting for remote input.
    0 = No remote sw
    1 = Occ/Unocc sw
    2 = start/stop
    3 = override sw

    It's defaulted to 0, and I don't think it's a BACnet mapped point. If it needs to be changed it has to be done thru the comfort link scrolling marquee.

  15. Likes loopypid liked this post.
  16. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by bacnet>CCN View Post
    The remote input state (BV:81) is a writable point by default, but you'll need to have the remote switch configuration point setup as well, if it's not.

    Thru the comfort link - Unit-RM.CF is the setting for remote input.
    0 = No remote sw
    1 = Occ/Unocc sw
    2 = start/stop
    3 = override sw

    It's defaulted to 0, and I don't think it's a BACnet mapped point. If it needs to be changed it has to be done thru the comfort link scrolling marquee.
    Thank you. I will be out doing this Friday morning.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Denver, Co
    Posts
    13
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Chos View Post
    carriers are very finicky in my experience usually give it a S/S and a setpoint and let them do as they please. If the carrier card isn't letting you write to it it is gonna be a setting on the carrier unit that enables it to be a read/write instead of just read
    Thanks for the reply. We are planning on just giving a S/ S and letting them do their thing. We have two of these units and we had to link the VFD's together via AI/AO so they would run at the same speed.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Contracting Business
HPAC Engineering
EC&M
CONTRACTOR