Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 66
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    525
    Post Likes

    Condensate pump power

    Question, I have been seeing slot of new installs where the company cuts the plug in off the pump, and wires it into the main electrical for the furnace, or in one instance clipped the primary to the xformer and wired nutted it there.
    Illegal right?
    I cornered the installer and he swears up and down it's fine. Code says that a receptical needs to be provided, non gfci.
    Should I push the issue?

    Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Va/Tidewater area
    Posts
    76
    Post Likes
    Good question. I've replaced worn out pumps that were hard wired in to incoming air handler power. I guess I should have pressed for an outlet.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Southold, NY
    Posts
    22,220
    Post Likes
    must be GFI protected.

    If they go thru the trouble of hardwiring just install a box with a GFI,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    30,747
    Post Likes
    A note to all:

    You are not permitted by Code to cut off a plug from a flexible cord and wire it directly to anything.

    If a manufacturer provides a hard-wiring option for installation, you must comply with all requirements of NEC chapter 3, including conductors, raceways, device boxes, and terminations.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. Likes jmac00, buttwheat liked this post
  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    525
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yep. That's about what I thought. Do you have NEC reference by any chance. Common sense says it's a no no, but they do love chapter and verse here.

    Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    525
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Never mind. Duh. Sorry.

    Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3,773
    Post Likes
    just pay an electrician to run a new wire and plug AND make customer pay. why would manufactures even make a 240 volt pump? I know why because they know installer will cut wire and wire to unit. just another misconception by toocool.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    30,747
    Post Likes
    When I asked, I was told they made 240 volt single phase pumps so you can run a pair of conductors from a three phase delta panel, and install the special receptacle that matches the special plug they give you for the pump.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    30,747
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by technocratic View Post
    Yep. That's about what I thought. Do you have NEC reference by any chance. Common sense says it's a no no, but they do love chapter and verse here.

    Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

    NEC 400.7 B requires the flexible cord to have a plug, so it would need a receptacle for the plug to connect to.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  11. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    686
    Post Likes
    I've installed 480v before.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3,773
    Post Likes
    just run a long extension cord from the kitchen. batabing.

  13. Likes chrisevansac liked this post
  14. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rochester, NY, USA
    Posts
    16,458
    Post Likes
    I absolutely HATE when some lazy POS 'Tech' cuts the plug of a condensate pump.

    every time I replace a furnace or for new construction, I install a 110v duplex on the furnace. This does two things for me

    1) a plug for a the condensate pump and a UV light

    2) a plug for a light or any other accessory that may be necessary during a service call

    The only down side I have found so far is some lazy numb skull plumber will use my outlet of a powered water heater.

    If I come across a hard wired condensate pump I will tell the homeowner that it's illegal and for a nominal fee i will add a outlet.
    PANIC
    Rarely works

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    101
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by toocoolforschool View Post
    <snip> why would manufactures even make a 240 volt pump? I know why because they know installer will cut wire and wire to unit. just another misconception by toocool.
    Actually I had serviced an apt complex with 40 geos in closets and not a neutral to be found. That's why they make 240v condensate pumps and small fractional hp circulators.

  16. Likes Juan Madera liked this post
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •