Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Take a new job for 6 dollars less hourly pay.

I know some of you techs may have came across a job opportunity that offered less pay but you where guaranteed to learn new skills. Did you accept the job that payed less but you where guaranteed to learn more. My issue is I'm a building engineer making 21 an hour but got offered a job at 15 starting as pm tech for a national hvac/r light commercial company. I was told that my skills are between a pm tech and a service tech. The manager did not feel confident in paying me more then 15 till I can prove my skills. What do you guys think? Please understand that it's true I'm not very experienced but I have good skills working on troubleshooting 5 ton and below systems.

Post Likes
    I guess you will need to show yours skills in a timely fashion. Does that quarantee a raise?

Post Likes
    Yes. If I can continue to prove that I have the skills to pm a system correctly and find any hidden issues then I will move up to becoming service tech within 90 days

Post Likes
    Along with a raise. However I did not ask how much they paid there service techs. The job posting said it was between 25-35 an hour

Post Likes
    Thats rough, hopefully they'll get you around what you use to make after you prove yourself. I like companies that offer flat rate pay, everyone makes the same and it's ultimately up to you how much you make.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Likes
    Why didn't you want to stay in your field as a building engineer and build your value as an employee? Taking a $6/hour cut is rough, but if you want to learn more, that's great.