Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes

    Bryant Evolution thermostat

    Working in a vacant home with this thermostat.
    http://www.ableairinc.com/EVOLUTION.pdf
    Electrician killed the power to change main panel.
    After power was restored furnace did not come on.
    I noticed the thermostat was waiting for input.
    Screen was showing setup info and I had to press the continue button several times and then exit.
    Set the desired temp and everything worked OK.
    Yesterday storm knocked out power and I had to do the same process again.
    Why doesn't the system just start up after a power outage?
    Thx
    David

  2. Likes Dan McIntyre liked this post.
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,395
    Post Likes
    What do you mean by "waiting for input"?
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    After the power interruption the thermostat shows certain statements? and I must push the continue button. When 4 or 5 statements? are completed, I push exit and then have to select HEAT or COOL.
    Then it goes through a sequence of checking static air pressure and all is good.
    Why doesn't it just resume normal previous set operation?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    bump

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9,395
    Post Likes
    What are the statements you have to respond to?

    Sounds like a communication issue between stat and equipment.
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I spoke to a HVAC friend of mine and he thinks when it was installed the tech left it in setup mode.
    He is going to stop by and check it out.
    I'll post what he finds.

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,192
    Post Likes
    It's the way that software is. Newer controls do not do that.
    Climate Control Solutions for your Home or Office

    Serving Northeast Philadelphia and Surrounding Areas

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Serial #3410x25452. How old is this unit?
    Reason I am concerned is this is a rental property and I don't want a 2am call for no heat should there be a blip in the power.

    OK it was built 34th week of 2010.
    Any thoughts on having to go thru the steps to run the furnace after a power interruption?

    Model #cnpvp3017ataacaa
    What size is this furnace?
    How do I transfer warranty to my name?
    Bryant site doesn't show anything.

    Oops. Just realized the numbers I posted are for the cased coil.
    I'll get the furnace numbers later today.

    Model #355cav042060fasa
    Serial #3010a03887

    Anyone tell me the specs on this unit?
    Can I transfer the warranty?
    Bryant site shows it already registered to previous owner?
    thz
    David

    After power interruption, this is what happens.
    Thermostat ask these questions...
    Filter type......Media.....continue
    Humidifier installed?...Yes
    UV lights installed?....No
    Searching for remote access....Exit
    Setup complete
    Save all selections....Yes
    Static pressure check
    0.57 inches
    at 893 cfm....continue
    Then I must select HEAT and set the temperature.

    So, why do I have to do this?
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-27-2016 at 09:08 AM.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Bump

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bedford,Ohio
    Posts
    117
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Problem solved.
    Installing tech found out there was a bulletin on the stat.
    It is being replaced under warranty.

  12. Likes Dan McIntyre liked this post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •