Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Likes

Hmm Non-Compete Clause

I am a recent tech school graduate and I have been working in the field since before I started school. I have been working a job for about two months now, and in the Employee Agreement packet there is a Non-Compete Clause that states that if an when I leave this company, I cannot work in any related field (HVAC Controls and Building Automation) for three years, anywhere in America. So far, I have gotten away without signing it, and I will not do so until I have sat down with my boss. I live and work in Minnesota. Is this sort of thing even enforceable? Is it standard for that to be included in those contracts?

I just wanted to get a feel for what you all thought. Let me know if I should be worried about it, please.

Thank you.

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by ABrand View Post
    I am a recent tech school graduate and I have been working in the field since before I started school. I have been working a job for about two months now, and in the Employee Agreement packet there is a Non-Compete Clause that states that if an when I leave this company, I cannot work in any related field (HVAC Controls and Building Automation) for three years, anywhere in America. So far, I have gotten away without signing it, and I will not do so until I have sat down with my boss. I live and work in Minnesota. Is this sort of thing even enforceable? Is it standard for that to be included in those contracts?

I just wanted to get a feel for what you all thought. Let me know if I should be worried about it, please.

Thank you.
    No Compete typically is you will not go after any customers of your current employer, they cannot stop you from working in the trade- Read it again

3. Likes HellGato liked this post.
    Post Likes