Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Confused Humid upstairs won't get cool and HVAC company is saying nothing is wrong! (NJ)

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting and I hope I can ask the right questions and finally find some answers to some AC questions that have been plaguing me for years.

My family and I (parents and two younger brothers) recently moved into this house in October. It's our first summer in this home, coming from a MUCH larger home that had its own massive share of air conditioning issues (and $1000+/month electric bills). At first it seemed like it was going to be great, but it's turning out to be a nightmare.

The house is only a few years old, to the point where the AC compressors and blowers are all still under warranty. My old man has some thing called American Home Shield where they send out some contractor to work on whatever issue and he pays a deductible. The problem is that they've come out 4-5 times now and they just keep saying nothing is wrong.

The house is zoned as follows: Downstairs thermostat is for the first floor and the finished basement, both floors have vents and all equipment for it is in the basement. The downstairs doesn't seem to have any issue getting cool. If you set it to 68, it'll go down to 68.

The upstairs thermostat is in the master bedroom, the blower is in the attic above the hallway, and then the compressor is on the side of the house right next to the first floor compressor.

Coolant levels are fine, the company says there's no leak and that the air that's blowing is cold, and then they leave without doing anything. If you set the upstairs to 72 (or 68 or 65 or anything) when it's 78 in the house, the lowest it'll go down to is 76, if we're lucky, and it still keeps turning on and off as if it's done its job.