Post Likes

How to convert from aluminum to copper before air handler

Hi,
    Im a newer residential hvac installer and Im installing my first heatpump airhandler and aux heat. ( so far my installs have been typical split systems )

The current air handler has a 100 amp breaker in the main breaker with aluminum wire to the existing air handler.

The new air handler says " DO NOT CONNECT ALUMINUM WIRE DIRECTLY TO THE AIR HANDLER " follow NEC for properly converting to copper.

The new air handler / aux heat calls for a 50 AMP max breaker for a 10 kw aux heat.

Im assuming I get a dual breaker like subpanel and tie the aluminum to the lugs, and put in a 50 amp breaker to copper #6 into the new unit?

Or how do I convert from the huge 100 amp aluminum wire to #6 copper and a 60 amp breaker?

Thanks!
    Joe

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by WarstlerFurnace View Post
    Hi,
    Im a newer residential hvac installer and Im installing my first heatpump airhandler and aux heat. ( so far my installs have been typical split systems )

The current air handler has a 100 amp breaker in the main breaker with aluminum wire to the existing air handler.

The new air handler says " DO NOT CONNECT ALUMINUM WIRE DIRECTLY TO THE AIR HANDLER "follow NEC for properly converting to copper.

The new air handler / aux heat calls for a 50 AMP max breaker for a 10 kw aux heat.

Im assuming I get a dual breaker like subpanel and tie the aluminum to the lugs, and put in a 50 amp breaker to copper #6 into the new unit?

Or how do I convert from the huge 100 amp aluminum wire to #6 copper and a 60 amp breaker?

Thanks!
    Joe

You answered your own question
    UA Proud

"Phfft! Facts. You can use them to prove anything." Homer Simpson

Post Likes

How to convert from aluminum to copper before air handler

The best scenario would be using the terminal blocks in a panel/disconnect.