Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: grounding, not enough

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Greenback, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,020
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    "Grounding rods are completely useless for preventing shock and that was never their purpose anyway. "


    Why are they required then, what is their role?
    Sorry for the very late reply. A PE at a local electrical utility told me that the purpose of a grounding rod is to make the potential at the service entrance to the same as the ground at the transformer. A ground rod is not a low impedance path back to the source and therefore generally will not trip a breaker.


    Mike Holt gives a good explanation starting just after 19:30 min

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vvvv5QVZoA
    -Marty

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    2,419
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    In my case, pole transformer ground was nothing near zero volts so, in theory, my meter/ service entrance voltage should be jacked up to utility transformers' above zero value. Not buying that.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Raleigh,NC.
    Posts
    565
    Post Likes
    had a case where I found there was just over 50 volts on neutral from power company after several hours of a "search and destroy" volt mission. The power co. was sympathetic but said could do nothing, because it was probably someone, up the line, for who knows how many miles, putting the volts on the line.
    remember, with electronics; when its brown,its cooking and when its black, its done!!!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    NW Indiana
    Posts
    1,673
    Post Likes
    I chased a shocking water issue once that only occurred when the wall furnace was on. I had no hair on my head from me pulling it out finding the issue. In the end a Fan wire in between the furnace cabinet that was buried you couldn't see was rubbing and grounding to the cabinet. When the fan would switch on voltage would bleed through the copper LP gas line passing to the water heater.
    "The Bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten"

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    2,419
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Had a long time customer call about an issue with the DISH installer. They had plugged their grounded receiver into the master bath plug. Shower of sparks blew from the plug. Wanted me to figure what was going on.

    DISH antenna coax was well grounded to the outside meter equipment. The house was 10 year old pier and beam with wood floors. I found a romex cable staple that had punctured the insulation and was tying hot to ground conductor in the attic.

    Well this can happen but should have tripped the breaker. That puzzled me. Opened the breaker panel and found the romex ground connector not connected to busbar.
    So all these years the electrical box screws were all 120 volts hot in the bathroom-lucky no one was killed.

    Thinking back, some "don't care" electrician probably kept having the breaker trip and found if he un-connected the ground the breaker would stay on.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Beatrice, NE
    Posts
    11,215
    Post Likes
    I had a customer complaining about lights blinking when the compressor started on their heat pump, like that has never happened before right. I dig in to it, it has a start kit that is working properly, the voltage doesn't dip on start up, amp draw on start up was faster than my Fluke would capture at 100/sec recording value. I checked everything I could think of and came up blank at every turn. For some reason, out of desperation I guess, I stuck one probe on the ground wire and put the other probe in the ground, I had 60+ volts, what. How does this happen. I start checking connections all the way back to the panel and had the same results all the way. I called the city and explained the issue. They sent out a couple lineman. I told them what I found, they pulled the meter and checked line-line, line to neutral, line to ground neutral to ground, all readings normal. The guy said I don't see a problem. I said put one probe on ground and give me the other. So he did and I stuck the probe in the dirt. He said what did you do, so I showed him the probe in the dirt. He went WTF. I said that's what I thought. They dug for over an hour and finally found the ground plate was rotted off at the pole. They fixed that, the reading neutral to ground went away and so did the light flicker on compressor start.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,316
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timjimbob View Post
    Had an issue that electrified the water pipes, and cast iron pipes in a rent house. We could not bond or add enough grounding rods to eliminate the problem. Two more 6 foot rods, ties to underground copper pipe to back yard hydrant. All existing grounding was proper. Had to have tenants move out because of shocking shower.

    Problem was bad neutral at pole. power company says they are not liable for condition of power quality coming into the residence.

    I felt exposed to a law suit even though I had done everything I can to safeguard my tenants.

    How should I make this situation safer, in future situations.
    A "Bad Neutral at the Pole" is the responsibility of the Utility Provider, & Yes Sir! ...... It will Absolutely cause all kinds of hazardous problems within the building that is being sup[plied by the Utility.

    I had a Customer with the same problem of getting shocked in various areas, & finally traced it out to the Pole. The Utility Provider is Duke Energy, & I called the Electrical Service Department, & they came out within two hours & fixed "Their Problem".

    As far as Your "Utility" timjim, ... I'd go to the "Higher Political, & Governing Powers in Your State", & File a Complaint, as well as Request/ Subpoena, any document related to this incident, so as to show that none of it was your fault.
    ---------

    Oops, ..... I just saw the date on this post, I replied to the initial post, cuz' the Topic came up as "New"/ "Active".
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,316
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BNME8EZ View Post
    I had a customer complaining about lights blinking when the compressor started on their heat pump, like that has never happened before right. I dig in to it, it has a start kit that is working properly, the voltage doesn't dip on start up, amp draw on start up was faster than my Fluke would capture at 100/sec recording value. I checked everything I could think of and came up blank at every turn. For some reason, out of desperation I guess, I stuck one probe on the ground wire and put the other probe in the ground, I had 60+ volts, what. How does this happen. I start checking connections all the way back to the panel and had the same results all the way. I called the city and explained the issue. They sent out a couple lineman. I told them what I found, they pulled the meter and checked line-line, line to neutral, line to ground neutral to ground, all readings normal. The guy said I don't see a problem. I said put one probe on ground and give me the other. So he did and I stuck the probe in the dirt. He said what did you do, so I showed him the probe in the dirt. He went WTF. I said that's what I thought. They dug for over an hour and finally found the ground plate was rotted off at the pole. They fixed that, the reading neutral to ground went away and so did the light flicker on compressor start.


    I gotta say, that the ground plate was made of "Piss Poor Materials" for it to have rotted BNM. When I've seen this problem at the pole, ... It's either been caused by Storm Damage, a badly leaning pole that stressed the connections, or damage caused by a negligent road crew as the bush hogged around the Pole.

    Good Job, at finding the Customer's Problem, BNM, & I'm gonna file this one away in my Mental File Cabinet, for another possible problem at the Utility Pole.
    Hos 4:6 My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge. Because you have rejected knowledge, I will also reject you, that you may be no priest to me. Because you have forgotten your God’s law, I will also forget your children.


    "You've got to Stand for Something or You'll fall for anything" (A. Tippin)


    Mat_15:24 But he answered, “I wasn’t sent to anyone but the lost sheep of the house of Israel.”

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •