Post Likes

Exclamation Help Starting hvac business

I'm wanting to start my own business in the next 2-3 years. It'll be residential/light commercial. I've been in the field for 7 years doing mainly installs but service the last 2 years. Anyhow, I know I'll need a couple grand for speciality tools and I'm thinking maybe 10-12 grand for a decent van. My questions are, what all do I need to start my own business? What special licenses or fees will I have to get? Would a 30 grand business loan be too much or not enough? Id like it to be just me in the company for the first year. What computer programs do you use for billing and storing customer info? Thanks guys. Any info is appreciated.

Post Likes
    i started my business 3 years ago. I am also a plumber. you need:

- incorporation, probably sub S type - consult a business lawyer
    - insurance, minimum 2 million total
    - workman's comp, but waive yourself as an officer of the corporation (cheaper rates)
    - your state or locality may require a contractor license. call your AHJ to find out
    - dont blow cash on special software. use MS office excel. keep track of all income, and break down expenses by tools, truck, fuel and maintenance, stock, etc.
    - get a GOOD, professional CPA
    - get (2) 3 drawer minimum file cabinets
    - get a laser printer
    - get a dedicated computer system. I use a laptop that stays in the office
    - backup regularly

Post Likes
    In Ohio you will need to be licensed. There are 3 types of licenses you will need to obtain to work on the equipment in our trade, HVAC, refrigeration, and hydronics. A plumbers license would be needed if you plan on doing any plumbing work.

To qualify you need:

Be at least 18 years of age.
    Be a United States citizen or a legal alien-must provide proof of being a legal alien.