Post Likes

Confused Gas Pressure Kit 78060

I write because some technician state that a diaphragm device is not as accurate as a digital device.

As a electrician I've used analog devices for measuring voltages with analog electro-voltmeters, or analog volt meters for measuring capacitances etc. which give me accurate readings; is this not the case with the 78060 Gas Pressure Kit?

This is the first time I'll be using a Manometer for installing a gas valve at my home. I know that pressures are an important part of the Gas valve installation after Gas leaks.

Is this devices I purchase accurate as described or is this device not as stated by other technicians as a digital device?

Post Likes
    The problem I have with analog stuff is that they don't seem to be able to stand up to rough treatment and bouncing around in the back of a service truck without going out of calibration. I still use analog refrigerant gauges and It seems like the needle never points exactly to zero if I haven't used them for a while. I'd bet that if I just left them hanging on a hook in my garage they would stay calibrated, but that's not a possibility. I'd bet if I had electronic gauges they wouldn't care so much if they got bounced around a little bit.

You're analog yellowjacket gas gauge will get you close enough, especially if it's just for one time use. Besides, setting a gas valve to 3.5" w.c. is just a general guideline anyways to get it to work good enough under most operating conditions. A pro would use a combustion analyzer (and other digital tools) to dial that sucker in for the best efficiency and safest operation possible.

Post Likes