+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ak900 Negative superheat

Post Likes

Ak900 Negative superheat

I just got these guages, and i'm loving them so far, but i'm kinda at a loss as to why the superheat is reading negative. i read the manual and it said something about the dew point being lower than it should, if i understood correctly. I'm a new tech and loving it so far. I'm just trying to do my very best and just a little nervous about going digital.

thanks for any help

Post Likes
    Make sure you have it on the right refrigerant. Im not being funny, but I have done it. Enjoy them, I know you will.

Post Likes
    Make sure it's on the right refrigerant. You can't have negative superheat.

Post Likes
    If you have a blend it might be seeing a negative number but it's not negative SH.
    I think digis are the only ones I've seen that will display a negative number vs a blank in either the SH or SC value but since others don't display a calculation you wouldn't be able to easily read a discharge line super heat with other styles

Post Likes
    i only do residential r22//410, so far on r 22 i've seen a negative super heat. i know in the manual it says something about the temp being below the dew point for the refrigerant or something to that effect. im just paranoid about these gauges, they're totally new to me and nobody i work with has heard of digi cool. i got them because of all the praise they receive on here, and they seem to be rather sturdy and accurate.

also any tips on getting the clamps to read a little faster. i got the uei package with the clamps, but they seem to adjust a little slow, longer than the 2 minutes the manual says.

thanks for any input.

Post Likes
    Dont worry, these gauges are the best on the market. It might take a week or two to get used to them but when you do, they will make you a more accurate and better tech. Dont worry about the name- you made a great choice.

Post Likes