Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Likes

Barber Coleman 8000

Recently, well about 8 months ago, started work at a institution and they have the 8000 series. I have 2 GCM's. One controls one building and the other controls 4 buildings. Before I took this job I was a res./light commercial HVAC mechanic and commercial refrigeration/Ice machine mechanic.

I have no books on this and from what I hear the system is so old now that there is not any hands on training classes on it. Short of getting TAC Controls out what is the best way to learn that system?

Thats what I liked about my old job, sorry we cant help you, call the control man, but now I dont have that luxury.

Any help?
    What we have here, is a failure to communicate........

Post Likes
    I have limited hands on experience with Network 8000. I can check for some electronic documentation but I do not think I have any. I work for a TAC partner, you may want to contact your TAC rep or TAC branch office. I believe your natural migration would be TAC I/A Series for an upgrade.

The old Invensys / Siebe / Barber Colman Network 8000 had pretty solid hardware. They did have software upgrades for Network 8000.

I work with the other TAC products (Andover, Vista and I/NET) as well as Tridium, Honeywell and Solidyne, so my only experience with Network 8000 was the same as you, which was as an end user 15 years ago.

I think TAC may have stopped factory training which is in Rockford, ILL for Network 8000 because it is considered more of a legacy system, however I would try to contact your local TAC rep or branch office because they may be able to give one on one training at your facility to get you up to speed. I cannot say for sure, I know our company will do this on legacy systems from time to time.

I am pretty sure Network 8000 is still supported (repairs to controllers & boards and software) There may be some other TAC reps that deal with the Invensys line that can add more.