Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 50

Thread: Homemade Digital Gauges

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    924
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Greend88 View Post
    What transducers are you using? Mind sharing your arduino sketch?
    Sorry for taking so long responding, I'm at the beach for memorial weekend.

    200 psi for suction 500 psig for discharge.

    water fuel oil air transducer 5v input
    output range 0.5v to 4.5v

    Got both new for about $20 each delievered on ebay. brand doesnt matter.

    I think I will post the sketch once its done.

  2. Likes digitalinput liked this post.
  3. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    VA beach
    Posts
    895
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Greend88 View Post
    What transducers are you using? Mind sharing your arduino sketch?
    X2 yes please


    Edit: oops, your post popped up after I posted.

    I've tried finding transducers on fleabay but didn't have success. Going to have to try again, I would love to mess with this!!

  4. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    66
    Post Likes
    Would this be able to test hydraulic fluid psi? For our dyno set up we use a hydraulic pump to create resistance and we check the psi to mathematically give us a estimate for the torque load . We have torque sensors to accurately give us a result but we don't keep the sensors inline all the time to prevent damage . Psi range would be from say 1000-5000 .

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    924
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnpaw View Post
    Would this be able to test hydraulic fluid psi? For our dyno set up we use a hydraulic pump to create resistance and we check the psi to mathematically give us a estimate for the torque load . We have torque sensors to accurately give us a result but we don't keep the sensors inline all the time to prevent damage . Psi range would be from say 1000-5000 .
    If you used a 5000 psi transducer. Yes

  6. #25
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    28,156
    Post Likes
    Seems to me if you were measuring 5000 psi, you'd want a transducer that would measure up to 10,000 psi. Maybe that's just me.

  7. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    66
    Post Likes
    well then make me one that I will purchase from you . A field test per say .

  8. #27
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    28,156
    Post Likes
    Here ya go. Took me less than 15 seconds with a Google search:

    http://www.transducersdirect.com/inn...s-and-switches


    Quote Originally Posted by Johnpaw View Post
    well then make me one that I will purchase from you . A field test per say .

  9. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    66
    Post Likes
    Can you make a package for me using the transducer you suggest ? My time is so limited , I have no issues paying for a service .

  10. #29
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    28,156
    Post Likes
    During my time off these days, it seems I prefer to do nothing.

    But I'm sure someone else here would be glad to help.

    Or you can simply browse that site. They also have wireless transducers rated up to 10,000 psi that are blue tooth compatible. All you would need to do is download the free app and use fittings you probably already have.


    Quote Originally Posted by Johnpaw View Post
    Can you make a package for me using the transducer you suggest ? My time is so limited , I have no issues paying for a service .

  11. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    66
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by BBeerme View Post
    During my time off these days, it seems I prefer to do nothing.

    But I'm sure someone else here would be glad to help.

    Or you can simply browse that site. They also have wireless transducers rated up to 10,000 psi that are blue tooth compatible. All you would need to do is download the free app and use fittings you probably already have.
    Roger that my brother from another mother......enjoy your weekend , and God bless the U.S. and all who served . They are never forgotten !!!!!!

  12. #31
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Bay Area California
    Posts
    28,156
    Post Likes
    Rock on bro' . . . !!


    Quote Originally Posted by Johnpaw View Post
    Roger that my brother from another mother......enjoy your weekend , and God bless the U.S. and all who served . They are never forgotten !!!!!!

  13. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    924
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by penderway View Post
    I think it needs to run my analyzer. I can't write code. (I made it in excel).
    That would be pretty sweet. Not really possible with the current components as far as I know.

  14. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mechanicsville, Virginia
    Posts
    2,027
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Sicofthis View Post
    That would be pretty sweet. Not really possible with the current components as far as I know.
    Maybe... but i think you can figure it out. I'm thinking a touch screen graphic display with wired pipe clamp temperature probes, on board ambient and wireless temp/humidity probes for before and after the indoor coil.

    I've got the algorithms, you can code and build the hardware. Obviously you would contribute more work, so you should be the biggest share holder.

    My analyzer is languishing in online limbo without a good hardware and firmware interface.

    Give it some more thought. A joint venture maybe?

  15. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Treasure coast, FL
    Posts
    8,777
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by penderway View Post
    Maybe... but i think you can figure it out. I'm thinking a touch screen graphic display with wired pipe clamp temperature probes, on board ambient and wireless temp/humidity probes for before and after the indoor coil.

    I've got the algorithms, you can code and build the hardware. Obviously you would contribute more work, so you should be the biggest share holder.

    My analyzer is languishing in online limbo without a good hardware and firmware interface.

    Give it some more thought. A joint venture maybe?
    I bet you could just make the gauge a data collector and have it send the info to your cell phone or tablet with the more sophisticated analyzing software.

  16. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    924
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    The programming is coming along, all refrigerants that I'm gonna add are in there.

    22, 410a, 134a, 407c

    Here's a rough vid showing the progress.

    Homemade Digital Gauges Test Stage: http://youtu.be/0dxmLUE5F1c

  17. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    17
    Post Likes
    Thats amazing!! you make it look simple lol

  18. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    At The Point Of No Return
    Posts
    16,763
    Post Likes
    These show more info on the screen than my first set of digital gauges. I like the hose parks in front too.

  19. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    924
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter


    Dont get no perttier than dat.

  20. Likes digitalinput liked this post.
  21. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    1,500
    Post Likes
    What I wanna see is a transducer that can do both pressure and temperature at the same time. If it was screwed directly to an access fitting without a hose, surely it could be accurate enough without having to use a separate temp probe strapped to the pipe?

  22. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    507
    Post Likes
    Couple of these: Thermocouple Modules and then you could use some Thermocouple pipe clamps already available on the market. These are pretty good temp sensors too: http://www.adafruit.com/products/381 Says they have 0.5C Accuracy but they wander a couple degrees so you have to do some averaging in your programming. And you could easily make your own clamps with them.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •