Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southwest Florida
    Posts
    21
    Post Likes

    Thermal Storage Tank measurement

    Hey Everyone!

    Any body have to measure temperature in a thermal storage tank at 1' intervals? BAPI was making cables for this with 10K Type II sensors but have since stopped. Any suggestions on vendors?

    Regards!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Desert Southwest
    Posts
    956
    Post Likes
    I did that on a 880K Gal tank that was just over 40' tall. We built it from the ground up and installed temp sensors and wells to measure the thermocline. The wells were 12 or 18" but you could probably adapt a strap on.
    If you can't fix it with JB Weld, Duct Tape, and Ty Wire it has to be replaced.
    No good deed goes unpunished.
    If you want to take off friday to go fishing then make sure you train your helper right.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    edmonds wa
    Posts
    4,145
    Post Likes
    I thought someone made one that used pressure readings for a level control.?
    UA Local 32

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southwest Florida
    Posts
    21
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    We have a ways to measure level. What we are missing now is temperature every foot.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Jurupa Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,905
    Post Likes
    Did you ever find a good solution for this? My hunch is that a 'custom' item would be required here for the best use - something like making up and sealing a cable of 1-wire temp sensors (Maxim 18B20) in a line that could be immersed into the tank. I'm pretty sure there are 1-wire to bacnet converters on the market, so integration might not be that difficult.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Southwest Florida
    Posts
    21
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    We did find a solution and have used it in two more tanks. I am pretty sure it was individual sensors made by BAPI that are rated for the pressure then we assembled them into a cable. I can check on it if you need information.

    Thanks for the reply!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •