Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes

    Possessed 3- Phase Compressor

    Greetings Ya'll,

    Has anyone had a 3-Phase compressor, that refused to run, when balanced 209 volts is present at T1, T2, & T3?
    This unit was not hot, not humming, not grounded to the chassis, not pulling any amps, & it also had continuity between all 3 terminals.
    Ohms between all 3 terminals was .028, which isn't correct, but, the comp exhibited no other problems!

    I switched T1, & T2, & "bumped" the compressor, & then rewired it to the correct terminals & then the compressor ran in with the proper rotation.
    And, it ran long enough to pull the Walk-in down to 41 degrees, before it quit again.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Dover, DE
    Posts
    11,361
    Post Likes
    When it quits what legs are opening? What's shell temp?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,434
    Post Likes
    I'm curious what is meant by "balanced" 209 volts?
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,434
    Post Likes
    And it sounds like a shorted or grounded winding(s).
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    N. Canada
    Posts
    874
    Post Likes
    Overload protection ng?

    Handles the "AA" battery ma from your ohm meter.

    Finally makes half-arse connection to run for a while.

    Hope it's external type.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    6,847
    Post Likes
    All the funny thing i see with electrical issues that one wouldn't phase me (pun intended). Get em a new motor.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Victoria, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1
    Post Likes
    Does it trip the breaker?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Stongsville Oh
    Posts
    1,410
    Post Likes
    David! Are you out there, did you get amp draws, was it over amping and going off on internal overload or motor protector.
    ckartson
    I didn't write the book I just read it!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Hamersville, Ohio
    Posts
    7,281
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Mornin'!

    I have to make this quick, as I've got paper work to do before getting out of here.

    A lot of you, need to reread my post, as you're asking questions, that have the answers uin the opening post.

    And yes, Core-d, I'm replacing the compressor as well as several other parts.

    This Service Station/Store could easily be turned into a Museum of what should not be done, in regards to HVAC/Refrigeration/ Electrical, & Plumbing

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Western Wa.
    Posts
    3,542
    Post Likes
    Have you mega ohmed it? if so what are those readings? What kind of compressor?
    UA Proud

    "Phfft! Facts. You can use them to prove anything." Homer Simpson

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,330
    Post Likes
    You said (first post) it showed no amps when not running ( no brainer here ) BUT you gave no amp reading after it started. 😮

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    31,434
    Post Likes
    I still want to know what "balanced 209 volts" are...
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist
    Member, IAEI

    AOP Forum Rules:







  13. Likes Scott Kline liked this post
  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    17,330
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    I still want to know what "balanced 209 volts" are...
    Well now, as you know, when one balances a load center they try to achieve equal AMP loads on all phases soooo..... could one do so with VOLTS 😕

  15. Likes Scott Kline liked this post
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •