Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Likes

Micro Air Conditioner for Motorcycle or mobile applications

Hello Everyone this is my first post. I'm an Electrical Engineer, with some background in thermodynamics I guess.

My Experience with A/C is minimal. I understand the basics, I know how the systems work, about energy transfer, phase change and so on. I've been lurking in this forum as well as the OverClocker Forums where people superfreeze their CPU's. It seems they have a lot of knowledge in the small a/c field, but my project has nothing to do with PC's.

I'm planning on making a small air conditioner that will ride in the back of a scooter or motorcycle. It may not be as impossible as it seems due to today's advances in technology. I've been thinking of this for a few years and finally have some budget to try it out. There are many parts of this project, most of which I can handle.

The structural part is Easy. The electrical part for me is easy since I can program and build dedicated electronics and monitoring. The power will be delivered by a batterypack or from the motorcycle if its large enough ( like one of those ADV rider style BMW bikes. The total power consumption should be about 150 watts

I've calculated that the average Human needs about 400BTU's of cooling, and while outside in the sun, maybe more. This adds up to 115 to 200 watts of cooling? Correct me if I'm wrong. The design I had in mind can cool up to 400 watts max, so this range should be possible (300-500btu)

For a compressor, I'm looking at these :
    http://www.aspencompressor.com/products/

Or more likely this one since is cheaper:
    http://r.ebay.com/wptYdE

They can provide up to 400 watts of cooling according to their COP.

For condenser, I need the smallest possible due to limits of space, so I'm looking at something like these pictures: