Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Post Likes

    BACNet IP vs Ethernet

    Good morning,

    Can anyone help me by explianing the difference between BACNet over IP
    and BACNet over Ethernet? I was just asked and I don't know.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    350
    Post Likes

    Talking

    One is by the IP address & the other is about the MAC address

    Check out http://www.niagara-central.com/ord?p.../BlogEntry/121

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    So....... The only difference is IP vs MAC? Are there any other considerations?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    350
    Post Likes
    It depends on what Hardware you are using....what system do you have????

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    This is a JCI NAE. I got a call form one of my tech cohorts He is setting up a chiller thru BACNet and the chiller tech asked how he wanted it setup.
    I read the link you sent {thank you!} I need to sit quietly and read that more
    completely, and I think I understand but BACNet is just catching on here and the learning curve is steep. Still fumbling if you know what I mean

    any sugesstions??

    dynawiderider

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    350
    Post Likes
    Give Freddy-B a yell as he is up with JCI gear.......
    I can only help U out with chiller stuff......!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks, How do I get a hold of him?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Concord, NH
    Posts
    116
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynawiderider View Post
    So....... The only difference is IP vs MAC? Are there any other considerations?

    Thanks
    Keep in mind that BACnet Ethernet is NOT routable. The devices need to be on the same subnet in order to communicate.

    BACnet/IP is routable, but you'll need a BBMD (BACnet Broadcast Management Device) in each subnet for communication.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    350
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Dynawiderider View Post
    Thanks, How do I get a hold of him?
    Do a search on freddy-b and you can get his email from his profile.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,639
    Post Likes
    Its really easy to set the NAE/ADS up as a Bacnet site.
    All you have to do is double click on the "Site" its the Top menu of all items tree. Then on the right hand pane a you will see the site info. Click advanced tab, more options appear, and about 3/4 of the way down the page there is a check box to enable the site for Bacnet. Then discover, and if your setup right on the other end you should see your chiller data.


    Freddy

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    949
    Post Likes
    The NAE would BACcrap IP (not BACcrap Ethernet) after setting the site as freddy said.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks for the input..........I will use it for good not evil!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne,Aus
    Posts
    350
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by NINAX View Post
    The NAE would BACcrap IP (not BACcrap Ethernet) after setting the site as freddy said.
    Just trying to help people out with a constructive reply! Who are you?? Rolo-2??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •