What would you do?

Hi,

Background on my home AC:

8 yr old Carrier AC.
    SEER rating of 10
    Model 38CK048370
    Rated for 22.5 Amps
    House is 2500 sqft

Well, I had my AC checked up for the first time in a couple years and the tech said that the compressor is running at 19.9 amps - really close to the 22.5 it is rated for. Blower is running fine though (1.4 / .88). Being an AC novice, I was not expecting to get news that my compressor was about to blow. The tech said normally the compressor should be at around 10 amps for the type it is and what its rated for. Now I'm somewhat panicking about my ac being on its last legs.

What would you do:

1. nothing, and wait for the compressor to blow (eventually)
    2. replace the compressor now
    3. replace the whole ac now
    4. something else?

How long do you think it may be before the compressor does blow?

Thanks in advance!
    Tim

Post Likes
    IMO, your tech was either intentionally lying to you to try to sell you a new unit or he was ignorant of what he was actually observing as far as system operation and was unintentionally blowing smoke up your rear.

Based on amperage alone, it is rather difficult to diagnose a "failing" compressor.

Barring other defects that he did not catch or correct, I would suspect that compressor has quite a bit of life left in her.

Post Likes
    do nothing and wait for compressor to blow. but I wouldn't worry too much about it based on conditions at the time the amps are within reason of operating specs

Post Likes
    There is nothing useful that can be done with RLA values unless you are comparing them to a known value or previous value. For example: yesterday the RLA on this motor was 5.3A, today the RLA is 7.9A, therefore today there is more load on the motor.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards" ~ Vernon Law