Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Likes

Humidity problem in 7 yr old NC home

HVAC newbie posting ahead. While I am a technology consultant, I know very little about HVAC. I am seeking advice from professionals – much like I would provide advice in my field of expertise. I have read Inkward’s “High humidity in my 4 year old house in NJ” and other postings. I also realize I do not know a lot of the HVAC terms. So I will try to follow the responses. If other information is required, I will do my best to provide it. Thank you to everyone in advance for your advice.

We have a humidity problem in our Raleigh North Carolina home that we want to solve. Built in 2007, the 4400 s.f. home includes two floors including a 400 s.f. finished area on third floor/attic. This was a custom builder’s personal home. He and his family lived in the home for about one year before we purchased it. The finished third floor area is roughed-in for a separate unit but it was never installed.

Currently (and originally) installed:
    Maytag PSA1BC018KA (1.5T) – services first floor
    Maytag PSA1BC030KA (2.5T) – services second and third floors (two zones with separate thermostats)
    Seven air returns; two on first floor, three on second floor and two on third floor
    All downspouts are routed away from the building. There are no noticeable moisture problems in the area near the home.

In 2012 we noticed surface mildew around electrical plates on exterior walls. Mildew was also present inside a cabinet door in the kitchen island. There was a minor amount of condensation in the crawl space but it was apparent a moisture problem existed. The course of action taken was to seal the crawl space. (August 2012)