Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: American Standard furnace tripping fuse.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes

    American Standard furnace tripping fuse.

    I'm going back to a furnace that has already tipped this 20 amp bus fuse at the disconnect switch. Previously I checked the amp draw at 6.25 amps with furnace running. This furnace is only 5 months old. It's the low end 80% furnace. Recommendations? I was going to take out the fuse/disconnect switch and install regular switch.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,356
    Post Likes
    What is the breaker rating ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Over current protection rating on unit is 15A.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I didn't check amp draw on the hot surface igniter.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,356
    Post Likes
    Tme delay fuse ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes time delay


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    9,868
    Post Likes
    Door switch ok?
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Your dream is your dream. It's nobody else's dream. You're going to have to do it for yourself"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    This time it was 20A breaker, not fuse.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,356
    Post Likes
    Dedicated circuit ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I traced it, it is a dedicated line. I did find this though
    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1385260806.964335.jpg
Views: 494
Size:  265.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    19,356
    Post Likes
    Winner Winner Chicken Dinner !

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I wish I would have checked the amp draw on start-up. Just something I learned the hard way!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Altmar, New York, United States
    Posts
    6,673
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by blazey10 View Post
    I traced it, it is a dedicated line. I did find this though
    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1385260806.964335.jpg
Views: 494
Size:  265.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com
    what is the plug? did you find the reason it melted? I have never seen such a clean melt.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Hot surface ignitor. Lacked enough conductors for awhile drawing high amp draw. Finally met its demise between the two service calls.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    112
    Post Likes
    Nice find blazey10,

    I had a similar problem but it was a bad motor, so an easy find for me. I would never thought it could be the ignitor. Something new I learn. Just out of curiousity, did you check the amp draw on the old ignitor and how much did it draw?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Edmond, Oklahoma
    Posts
    763
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by kingkaiko2002 View Post
    Nice find blazey10,

    I had a similar problem but it was a bad motor, so an easy find for me. I would never thought it could be the ignitor. Something new I learn. Just out of curiousity, did you check the amp draw on the old ignitor and how much did it draw?
    This type of failure could have happened with normal current levels to the ignitor.

    Wire feeding socket too small (due to nick or manufacturing defect), gets too hot (with design value of current to ignitor), melts insulation, shorts the 120V conductors together, trips breaker.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by kingkaiko2002 View Post
    Nice find blazey10,

    I had a similar problem but it was a bad motor, so an easy find for me. I would never thought it could be the ignitor. Something new I learn. Just out of curiousity, did you check the amp draw on the old ignitor and how much did it draw?
    I did not get to check amp draw on start-up, just during operation. You know how you get when sometimes check amperage; holding ammeter in your hand, you turn on disconnect wait for inducer mtr, then ignitor, then blower mtr comes, and then for some reason you clamp your meter to check amp draw. Gah! That's not what you do when checking a compressor! Anyways just something else I learned!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •