Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes

    American Standard furnace tripping fuse.

    I'm going back to a furnace that has already tipped this 20 amp bus fuse at the disconnect switch. Previously I checked the amp draw at 6.25 amps with furnace running. This furnace is only 5 months old. It's the low end 80% furnace. Recommendations? I was going to take out the fuse/disconnect switch and install regular switch.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16,148
    Post Likes
    What is the breaker rating ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Over current protection rating on unit is 15A.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I didn't check amp draw on the hot surface igniter.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16,148
    Post Likes
    Tme delay fuse ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Yes time delay


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    7,523
    Post Likes
    Door switch ok?
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    This time it was 20A breaker, not fuse.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16,148
    Post Likes
    Dedicated circuit ?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I traced it, it is a dedicated line. I did find this though
    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1385260806.964335.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  265.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    16,148
    Post Likes
    Winner Winner Chicken Dinner !

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    271
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    I wish I would have checked the amp draw on start-up. Just something I learned the hard way!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Altmar, New York, United States
    Posts
    6,673
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by blazey10 View Post
    I traced it, it is a dedicated line. I did find this though
    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1385260806.964335.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  265.9 KB


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - Bigcountryairhvac.com
    what is the plug? did you find the reason it melted? I have never seen such a clean melt.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •