Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Likes

Appion CRT leak?

I’m not a Pro first off but I have some but not all Pro tools. Working on an old automotive A/C system.
    I had an old vacuum pump from back in the eighties which seem to get down to below 29 in/hg on compound gauges just as old. I wondered how good it really was. Long story but I ended up with a JB DV-3E, BluVac LTE and two Appion CRTs.

The system is back together and I had two YJ black vacuum rated hoses coming. Just to play, I used manifold gauge to vacuum through the Appion CRTs. Got down to around 545 microns when it seemed to hit a plateau. I isolated the system and shut the pump off.

After 30 minutes it was 697 microns which is more than good. Didn’t expect them but the YJ hoses came. It was at 850 microns at this time.

I cracked the hose on pump and wooosshhh! The manifold was still open. I didn’t touch anything on the Appions or recheck them but it appears that they leak. Over an hour later and it’s at 1100 microns.

Going to try again with the YJ hoses but has anyone run into this? Operator error or just a fluke?

Post Likes
    I fought long and hard for 'em , and they just aint what they used to be.

Post Likes
    Didnt they come out with a new plunger and gaskets...... might want to get over to you tube and check out fritz rochesters videos on appion core removers.

They had some problems with some....dont know if they leaked or what.... but I know appion sent Fritz some new ones and I think they mentioned in the vid that they changed the o ring style.
    The bible is my constitution and the constitution is my bible.

WE THE PEOPLE refers to THEM and not YOU.

Chewbacca Mom 2016

Post Likes
    They sent me a new plunger but the thing seems to screw up at about 600 microns.

Quote Originally Posted by corny View Post
    Didnt they come out with a new plunger and gaskets...... might want to get over to you tube and check out fritz rochesters videos on appion core removers.