Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Post Likes

cleaning grease-laden condenser coils

In the restaurant kitchen in the hotel where I work as a maintenance person, among other refrigerator and cooler units there is a reach-in cooler unit in the vicinity of the deep fryer and hood vent. The condenser coil for the reach-in is located on top of the unit. The coil cleaning has been neglected much longer than it should have been so needless to say the fins are gummed up pretty bad with kitchen grease from the air, combined with dust. With the condenser coil still in place on the unit I sprayed some foaming condenser coil cleaner on it (the kind that's supposed to cut through grease), let it foam up for 10 min or so, then spray-rinsed it with water, as the instructions said to do. It helped some but not much; still looks dirty/greasy and really not a very satisfactory cleaning job. Plus of course it makes a mess up there, difficult to keep the greasy cleaner and water sopped up lying rags all around. Did a search on this forum about this issue and came up with the following response from back in 2004 from Icemeister, which seemed to make the best sense to me:
    "The foaming alkaline coil cleaners (like CalClean) are the best chemical to use for these greasy condensers. I won't clean them in-place though because of all the mess and more importantly the liability of somehow getting this highly caustic stuff on food that is then served to the public. I simply schedule a shutdown of the box, recover, disconnect and remove the condenser coil to an area where I can properly clean and rinse it. It takes a couple of hours or so, but when you're done, it's done right, the coil is spotless and so is the cooler."

My question(s), are: (1) What does he mean by recover? (2) What all will be involved in disconnecting (and then reconnecting) the condenser (as I've never done it before).
    Any advice/comments appreciated for this issue. thanks!

Post Likes