Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 19 of 19
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    104
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Tried the same on 8081 that they gave me and it responds correctly with "Listening." Guess it is their problem. I'll remember this for next time.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,303
    Post Likes
    Off topic perhaps, but am I the only one that does not use the default ports?

    I always ask for a range of 10 from the start even if I only need 3-4, seems to help when at a later date I need another open port, minus all the IT drama all over again

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,851
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris_Worthington View Post
    Off topic perhaps, but am I the only one that does not use the default ports?
    I always change them from the default. It makes it much harder for someone with too much time from using google to find all the brand X installs in seconds and then trying the default passwords.

    Default ports + default passwords = disaster waiting to happen.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Several Miles from Sane
    Posts
    1,782
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by DST-Tech View Post
    ...They said to try entering the Public IP and specify Port 8081, http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8081. ...
    I am no expert but if my limited IT knowledge is correct they are redirecting port 8081 (as the http port) on the web side to port 80 (http port) on the LAN side.

    Funny how they (IT) neglected to tell you that part until you pressed them for more info, isn't it.

    Chris/orion, we use the default ports but not passwords. Too many people involved to always have to keep track of what system is using what ports.
    If sense were so common everyone would have it !
    Stupid should Hurt !
    If people took care of their cars like they do their HVAC Systems you'd see a lot more people walking
    !

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    104
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    You try explaining to them that it is a fairly simple setup involved, but they still insist that it has to be the JACE. I think my argument of why can I connect on the LAN side of the switch with IE and not the WAN side of the switch made them think a little bit harder. Its tough when you are stuck in the middle of the customer and their IT reps, asking why it doesn't work. I don't like placing blame; just working towards a resolution. Most IT people I have worked with think that the customers business revolves around them and not the other way around, that they are there to support the customers' needs. The wealth of knowledge on this site is excellent and it's kind of sad that the $$ that I pay for JCI support is literally thrown into a black hole. I come here first for help. What's up with that?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,638
    Post Likes
    LISTENING This response indicates that a process is listening on the target port. PortQry received a response from the target port.

    NOT LISTENING This response indicates that no process is listening on the target port. PortQry received one of the following Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) messages from the target port:
    Destination unreachable
    Port unreachable

    FILTERED This response indicates that the target port is being filtered. PortQry did not receive a response from the target port. A process may or may not be listening on the target port.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •