PDA

View Full Version : York Package Units



basshound71
08-03-2011, 07:17 PM
Has anybody else had issues with incorrect wiring in new York units? Installed 2 units today, one 3 ton and one 4 ton. On both units the blower ran backwards with everything running correctly except on the 4 ton where both the compressor and blower ran backwards with the condenser fan running correctly. WTH? Got it corrected and running fine but looks like they need to work on quality control. Never had any problems when was actually York not JCI.

timebuilder
08-03-2011, 08:22 PM
One problem I found with the larger York RTUs (the ones made on the Coleman line) is that the first stage circuit is in the TOP of the evap, and the second stage is on the bottom. This was the first unit like this I had seen. I can think of no good reason for it, either.

freonr22
08-03-2011, 08:26 PM
That's why we do startup... ;)

basshound71
08-04-2011, 06:52 PM
Well evidently they can't wire black to black and blue to blue on the blower contactors.

HJ Controls
08-05-2011, 06:58 PM
had the same thing happen. reversed the wires on two contactors and done.

basshound71
08-06-2011, 01:04 PM
Yep, was easy fix but you shouldn't have to do that. Obviously they have a color blind mexican wiring them. What ever happened to QUALITY?

SteveBates1971
10-01-2011, 06:31 PM
Lol to basshound

ararams
10-01-2011, 09:22 PM
are those units are three phase units

Hardwater
10-02-2011, 06:05 AM
Is it 3-Phase? more then likely, so do you know if the installing electrician hooked it up correctly and checked it for rotation from the power source?:whistle:

emtim
10-02-2011, 09:41 AM
Installed replacement 30 ton ,I think it was predator ,as soon as checked phases and rotation the board was flashing ,hi limit 2nd stage . I was told bad board ,finally got factory on phone ,they could not find schematic. The problem was a wire was switched on the molex plug at main board .This unit was tested at factory.

ktxkrew
10-03-2011, 09:39 PM
Yea simple phase correction should do the trick....Thats why they pay us to start them up ;)

ararams
10-04-2011, 09:36 PM
Technician or electrician , anybody can connect the power and they have a fifty fifty chance of getting it right . There is no way anyone not even at the factory can predict how its going to be wired in the field,it needs a tech to ensure it is all going in the right direction.