PDA

View Full Version : Stumped

tjcsf07
03-19-2016, 07:14 PM
All,

I am looking for some help working on a small walk-in freezer. It's somewhat of a bastardized set up with a trenton Teha-025 (404a) condenser mounted outdoor on the roof (roughly 10' above the box) and a russel ae26-92 two fan evaporator, electric defrost.

Let me start by saying my experience with refrigeration is limited to what I learned at the voc-tec in high school. I did stay in the field long enough to get a technicians license in MA, but for the most part I only worked on comfort cooling equipment.

These days I am a project manager for a decent sized mechanical contractor so I do not break out the tools very often anymore.

The equipment in question was existing in a space that that a friend of mine acquired to expand his restaurant business into, there is no service history available for the walk in freezer.

We powered on the freezer when he moved into the space last summer and the box pulled right down to temp and pumped itself down. Other than a quick check of the coils to see if we needed to clean anything up, I did not observe the operation of the freezer for more than an hour or so or however long it took to pull down.

The first cool night that fall, I was called to check out the box as it had gone warm for a few hours. I stopped by after work and observed bubbles in the sight glass (it was still cool out)...blocking off the condenser with cardboard cleared the glass and the box quickly pulled down.

A few days later I had some time to investigate what was happening with the machine. With the cardboard still on the condenser, the head pressure was keeping within a few #'s of the 210# the headmaster is supposed to be maintaining.