Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

large military cold storage facility, sweating lines and ice formation

First time poster, long time lurker. Im a civilian contractor stationed in the south pacific, Marshall Islands. Im the department Mechanical Engineer, which stands for Mr. Everything, whereas sooner or later, they'll wordsmith it into being mechanical in nature, even if its not.

Im looking at a problem at a large cold storage facility. The dimensions of the combined cooler/freezer areas are 60' x 130', comprised of both freezers and reefers. The overall height of each cooler box is 21'7". There's been some damming of ice up high in one of the coolers, especially to one corner. My suspicions were there's water coming from above the coolers. Upon in person inspections, this turned out to be the case. The whole building is approx. 8 years old, so not too deteriorated. All the lines look to have armaflex installed in a correct manner, however a majority of them are wet to the touch, some have ice forming at the seams. Theres standing water in quite a few areas, and the water seems to be migrating down the seams of the panels, and in between the walls. I have ice forming on the opposite wall of a freezer, in a 38 degree cooler, but no ice forming on the opposite freezer wall, hence my suspicion of migrating top down. I need to remedy this problem.

Theres a dedicated cooling system/AHU for the space above the cooler boxes in the servicing area, so the air is tempered, not open to atmosphere. The TXV was iced over, but this is the smallest of my problems. Im sure fixing it will help the sweating issues.
    Options/Ideas:
    1) go over the old armaflex with a second layer for double insulation. This would require new pipe hangers to accommodate the increased diameter.

2) install new armaflex
    3) tape all seams of existing armaflex
    4) Extend ducting off dedicated AHU to blow over troubled areas (keep in mind, 60 x 130 is a lot of real estate).