Page 1 of 13 1234567811 ... LastLast
    Hey all nOOb here. I'm try to educate myself as much as possible so I can choose a new system for my home. I have wanted to add a/c for a long time but now I'm finally able to afford it! I live in Idaho so a swamp cooler has been getting me by in the past but the hottest days of summer are just too much for the cooler.

I have gotten several bids (i know don't post $$$) and I'm still a little unsure which way to go.

I'm going to get a new gas furnace to replace my old American Standard furnace from 1979 and new air conditioning.

The one contractor only installs Trane and the other only Goodman. I understand that the Goodman is a less expensive brand so I am factoring that into his bid. I also understand that the KEY is the quality and expertise of the installer and any system that isn't properly installed will either fail early in its life, or not work the way it should.

The Trane Dealer wants to install a XB10 10 SEER AC and a XR80 gas furnace.

The Goodman dealer wants to install a 10 or 13 SEER and a 80% gas furnace both made by Goodman.

I understand both of these are at the lower end of their product lines so is the budget Trane a better choice than the Goodman? I'm pretty familiar with Trane but never owned anything from Goodman. Should I pay a little more and get a better XR system from Trane?

I guess my main concern is getting a system that's not reliable and long lasting. I'm willing to pay a little more and upgrade to something of better quality but I think the efficiency of these systems seem like they would be good enough for my current needs. Thanks for any insight you guys can provide and I'll try my best to use the search function to learn more myself.

[Edited by bobb820 on 03-03-2006 at 04:03 PM]

Where do you live???plans for home,stay or go??
    It's NOT the BRAND,it's the company that installs it!!!!!

If your staying,the Variable speed furnace would be nice.