Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 139
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,010
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I meant the standard DC sensors. Isn't that what you were using and saying they were inaccurate?

    I've found no reason to question these sensors when tightly connected to the line and insulated well.
    I was referring to the Digicool pipe clamp's they were over a hundred when I bought the 1250's.. For some reason when I upgraded to the pipe clamps I did not get the standard sensors. It would be nice to try them and see how they work..
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    3,010
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac wiz 79 View Post
    i loved the Cooper red clamp but they would only last a season. for 120 a pop(i think that's what they were) i had enough after a few. i have quite a few of those pipe straps that come with the Cooper boxes but never cared for them so i was going to try them in my test modification ..
    What failed on the Red Clamps? Im about a year in with mine and so far so good. I really like them as well as the strap pipe sensors...
    I am still going to pick up another set to use with the 1250's and see how that works.. From the get go when I bought the Dc's I never used the clamps because the temp reading was off. I brought in the cooper box and the DC's.

    Now I would really like to see an accurate reading on the 1250, thus the reason for the modification...


    It will be interesting to see what comes about with this new ak900 style thermistor..
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nashville ,TN
    Posts
    289
    I have my ak mod with the Cooper straps , I haven't noticed any temperature problems.

  4. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, Ca
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomasg View Post
    I have my ak mod with the Cooper straps , I haven't noticed any temperature problems.

    Have you bothered to check? I thought my micron gauges were fine until I bothered to check them against one another.

    Dan
    If you don't notice, I'm doing my job.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nashville ,TN
    Posts
    289
    Yes in ice water and my cooper box.

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cincinnati, oh
    Posts
    22
    do you have pics of what you did. I just got my AK900 and I am wanting a nonvelcro option

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,675
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm
    Here's a little trick that I've come up with to protect the sensors.

    Take the sensor and carefully wrap it up about the width of your palm and close the velcro around it.

    Now, wrap a piece of insulation a bit longer than it is around it and wrap a mille-tie around that. Radio Shack has them around here.
    Quote Originally Posted by fheatair
    do you have pics of what you did. I just got my AK900 and I am wanting a nonvelcro option
    Try the link in the post quoted above yours.

    They work great.

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Nashville ,TN
    Posts
    289
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread....1019051&page=2
    Jp idea is pretty good also if you dont want to take the chance of messing your new sensors up. I did mod only because I pulled my sensor wire out of the sensor going up a ladder. I keep them in a small bag that slides down the hanger now works great.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    x2 on keeping them in a small bag connected to the manifold. i keep a few millie ties in there as well.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    i did the mod the other night & am able to use my cooper straps now ... didnt really care for the strap type probes before but thats because i was spoiled using clamp on. it works & looks great. im going to take 1 of the 2 probes that came with the ak900 & modify an old testo clamp a friend of mine threw away after the connection pins broke .... id share pics but anyone who has read this thread has seen the idea already

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,675
    I've got an idea or two for an interesting Digi-cool sensor mod.

    I've got materials on the way right now for it.

    I'll take pics as I do it for you all

  12. #51
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    i did the clamp set up .. here's the pics. it came out decent i used some scrap wire from a digital temp control i had to shorten the sensor length on & the testo clamp. the part i don't like is I'm only getting 33 on it no matter how much i stir up the crushed ice/water mix compared to the 32 on my Cooper strap. how bad could that 1 mess me up or is it tolerable? its irking me
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,675
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I've got an idea or two for an interesting Digi-cool sensor mod.

    I've got materials on the way right now for it.

    I'll take pics as I do it for you all
    OK, I finally got the parts ordered, the time set aside and grew the B***S to start remodeling a DRSA.

    Here was the plan. Purchase a set of dual scissor clamps and some materials from Digi-key.

    Chop the 4 pin connector off of the dual scissors and install individual plugs to match the original 1200 connector.

    Rip the 4 pin connector out of the AK and install 2 plugs matching the 1200.



    This gives me the advantage of using a single sensor if I want a single and dual sensors when I need it.

    I've also got the ability to use clamps or simple probe sensors as needed or wanted for the job at hand.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event