Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast
Results 27 to 39 of 139
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,547

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    758
    anyone have part numbers for ak900 to cooper.like to start from plug on unit

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    Quote Originally Posted by hvac17011 View Post
    anyone have part numbers for ak900 to cooper.like to start from plug on unit
    bump ....... im interested in tinkering with my Coopers but want to keep it clean looking

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    6,650
    The hole in the face should be the same on all the units so if you are looking at getting parts you could switch everything (plug and socket) over to the old style.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    1,505
    im playing around with some ideas at this time but am trying to keep it up to dougs standards & waterproof is a bit..h. ordered in a few jacks the otherday & they are supposedly water proof ...if they work the coopers
    will plug right in but not 100% on the accuracy using that thermistor.
    that doug sure sets a high bar for us to try & raise. makes me wish i were
    younger to see the changes that are going to take place in this industry
    over the next few years ...

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    Yeah.... Think I'm gonna get out of the game of modifying Doug's design. My beautiful 1250 is now almost completely useless, thanks to my attempted field re-engineering. It's going in a box and on a truck to BC tomorrow, hopefully get brought back to life.
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Torrance, Ca
    Posts
    172
    I've got an idea for a couple different clamp/sensor setups. I'd like to start with just a raw thermister and a male plug instead of sinking $100 into a set of Velcro Digicool sensors that I'm going to get all MaCGyver on. How do you guys know that the Cooper thermister are the same as Doug's stock thermistors? Having some specs on what is stock sure would help. What's the point of modifying them if we lose the accuracy? That the reason I got them in the first place. I just don't trust the reading with how loose the sensor ends up being. I have poor Velcro skills when it comes to tight places.

    Dan
    If you don't notice, I'm doing my job.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    i took jp's advice & cut the Velcro off. i use those millie ties which works great. i still would like a separate clamp on. i was afraid i would pull the wires right out of the sensors on the ones my ak came with so today i put some high temp around the point the wires go in & smoothed it out nice. i hope it helps if not oh well

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,997
    In my experience in the field the Digicool sensors are usually off, maybe effected by ambient?? I made the plug modification to accept the cooper clamps and they work great, faster responding even, on the 1250's. If I hook up the same cooper clamp to the cooper srh77a the super heat and sub cooling readings are they same on the 1250's and the copper Thermometer. (same measured line temp)

    An example today, it was cooler This morning and The digi clamps said I had almost 10* sc with a flashing sight glass. I assumed that must have been off and hooked up the coopers. Turned out it was closer to 1-2*.. The digicool clamps seem to work ok on larger suction lines but forget about the liquid line IMO. The one this morning was 5/8"..

    Im going to but another red cooper clamp to use with the digicools..
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,547

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,997
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    Are you insulating those sensors?

    If you aren't then you will see inaccuaracies.
    Insulating the clamp itself? How would I do that? 4" armorflex with a 3/4" wall??
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,547
    Quote Originally Posted by Pascone10 View Post
    Insulating the clamp itself? How would I do that? 4" armorflex with a 3/4" wall??
    I meant the standard DC sensors. Isn't that what you were using and saying they were inaccurate?

    I've found no reason to question these sensors when tightly connected to the line and insulated well.

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    i loved the Cooper red clamp but they would only last a season. for 120 a pop(i think that's what they were) i had enough after a few. i have quite a few of those pipe straps that come with the Cooper boxes but never cared for them so i was going to try them in my test modification ..

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345678910 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event