Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    New home, with an Amana unit in the upstairs. The AC installer came to me and said he would like to see separate runs of electrical to the unit, 60amp and 30amp breakers for the 15KW heat strip. AC installer says normal runs are 6 gauge to the 60 and a 10 gauge to the 30, from the main breaker panel.
    The electrician has run a 4 gauge to a terminal box(lack of true name for the box)3ft from the unit. From here, he has a 6gauge to the 60 and a 10guage to the 30.
    Since I am not a professional AC or electrical installer, I have to turn to you guys for your opinion.
    Note: The AC company is a rather large company, serving several counties and has been here since 78. The installer has been with the company for 8years.
    Electrical company is also a large company. The workers did not speak english very well,(not uncommon for Texas) so I wanted to get you guys professional opinion before I protest or not....

The #4 wire is alright depending on how many feet of wire there is.
    There has to be breakers in the box before the air handler for the #6 and #10. If there are no breakers in the box where the wires split it needs changed.

When a single wire is used its normally done by running the single feed all the way to the air handler.

The proper name for the other box is a "sub-panel", if it has circuit breakers in it.

If he is using a sub-panel, I would be okay with that, as long as he follows National Electrical Code. Some of the variables are distance, and type of insulation on the wire.

However,

If Sparky is simply connecting all of the wires together inside of a box, then it becomes a "junction box".

I would lobby for separate pulls, or a sub-panel.

It gets done both ways. Either way is fine. We all have our preferences.
    There is nothing more frightful than ignorance in action....Mark Twain

I take it this has been installed already. Did they slip some aluminum wire in?