Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4

    trane rtac wont respond to start command

    I have a tRANE RTAC2504 air cooled chiller that will not start when given a start command. The flow switch is closed the return water is 56f and the setpoint is 44. I have 22 volts dc @ the circuit but the chiller just stays in start inhibit with no response. I used to have a friend @ trane but he moved on and trane will not give me any help ot tech assistance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    101
    Maybe Tracer is holding it off. Try local mode. If you are using Techview you should be able to see the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,350
    Your start/stop relay probably isn't made.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    48
    First, make sure the chiller is in LOCAL control and then jump out the SS on the card, then see what happens.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    U.A. (upper Alabama)
    Posts
    870
    Quote Originally Posted by Trane_Dude View Post
    First, make sure the chiller is in LOCAL control and then jump out the SS on the card, then see what happens.
    If the chiller is in local and you hit auto, it does'nt care if the remote ss contacts are made,or not, does it? Hit local in setpoints, and if it still does not run, and says start inhibited it should tell you why when you touch the start inhibited line. I.E. start inhibited by low saturated cond. temp. Just a guess. What is the ambient temp.? Does it have low ambient capability?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    48
    If the chiller is in BAS control and is not occupied by BAS it will not start even if the SS is closed. That's why I say put the machine in LOCAL control and close the SS. If it still says inhibited by and external source then there is something wrong with the SS input.

    If it just says inhibited then there is something else going on. It should say inhibited by an external source.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by cperk View Post
    If the chiller is in local and you hit auto, it does'nt care if the remote ss contacts are made,or not, does it? Hit local in setpoints, and if it still does not run, and says start inhibited it should tell you why when you touch the start inhibited line. I.E. start inhibited by low saturated cond. temp. Just a guess. What is the ambient temp.? Does it have low ambient capability?
    The SS contacts still have to be made when the chiller is in local. The local/remote setting is only for BAS control.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    5
    Check the 115 Volt control circuit. There is a fuse in with the condenser fan fuses, it is a 10 amp fuse. If it is bad look for bad solenoids on the compressors or any thing in the 115 volt circuit.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by kmay2691 View Post
    Check the 115 Volt control circuit. There is a fuse in with the condenser fan fuses, it is a 10 amp fuse. If it is bad look for bad solenoids on the compressors or any thing in the 115 volt circuit.
    If that fuse was bad, you wouldn't have any control power and the display would be blank.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    If that fuse was bad, you wouldn't have any control power and the display would be blank.
    Nope, dyna view is powered thru 24 volts and will be on, trust me I have fixed this numerous times.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,350
    Quote Originally Posted by kmay2691 View Post
    Nope, dyna view is powered thru 24 volts and will be on, trust me I have fixed this numerous times.
    Your right, DynaView is powered by 24 volt circuit. I had my fuses confused....but how would the 115 volt volt fuse being blown cause a start inhibit since the SS LLID is a dry contact and all the LLID's are 24vdc.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by R123 View Post
    Your right, DynaView is powered by 24 volt circuit. I had my fuses confused....but how would the 115 volt volt fuse being blown cause a start inhibit since the SS LLID is a dry contact and all the LLID's are 24vdc.
    Flow Switch is an optical input powered thru the 115 volt circuit, No flow switch no chiller start.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    4
    sorry guys i have been in south carolina and ga on service calls and do not have acomputer in my truck. Turns out that the unitonly had 20 psi of 134 and the transducer read this as 21 degrees of ambient temp. Unplugged 1st stage transducer and second stage came right up.Thanks for all the help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event