Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question

I am an HVAC/R contractor but lack knowledge in IAQ issues, so I'm hoping you great guys can help me out. Here's the problem; I smoke and my wife nags constantly. I am redecorating the family room and and only now see all the nicotine stains and crud that my smoking causes. (It's quite disgusting, but NO, I'm not ready to quit smoking!) I have a Honeywell 20x25x4 media filter coupled to Heil 90+ 2 stage, variable blower furnace with twin lamp UV downstream from A/C coil. I am thinking of putting in an electronic air cleaner. Here are the questions:
    1) Should the EAC be up stream or down stream from the filter?
    2) Should I discard or keep the media filter with an EAC?
    3) What is the best EAC?
    4) What CFM should blower be set to on manual fan for best efficiency?
    Thanks in advance for your help 'cos I can't take the nagging anymore! (Replies suggesting getting rid of the wife need not be posted;- it is not financially viable!)

I recommend the Dynamic EAC. Remove the Honeywell filter & just use the Dynamic exclusively. No need to worry about adjusting the air flow at the AHU due to the outstanding design of the Dynamic.
    WHY?

American standard is coming out withthe Accuclean system. supposedly it's super. Also saw a media and EAC in one box I,ll post when i get the name

Sorry that single box system is UV and Media.And it's kind of pricey.

How about the Aprilaire 5000? Hybrid between a media and an EAC. Got tons of em out there and no complaints to speak of (Actually more like a few dozen). Maintenance between them and the Honeywell is miles apart. Once/twice a year filter changes and a gingerly cleaning of the EAC components, definately done by professionals, is about it. Research Products dealt with a recent recall with impressive expediency, IMO. A responsible company and a solid product.

Do the Aprilaire 5000 make a zapping noise?

I don't suggest the EAC itself, they are a pain to keep up.