Thread: Tracer Summit

Question

Im an outside contractor (Not an employee of trane), and have been asked(among other things) to bid on moving Tracer Summit to a new computer (the old IBM is going into the dumpster). Im very familiar with Summit and am sure I will have no problem loading the software onto the new machine that is fully able to support Summit.

Here is my question: Will I be able to re-register the software on the new machine without the involvement of the "Local - 100mi away" Trane office. The current software is legally registered and was purchased by the customer. The customer would like to avoid the high cost of a technician and drive time just to reregister the software.

Any thoughts appreciated!

You might try using "norton ghost" to restore a drive image to the new machine and then upgrade the os back to whatever level it needs to be.

I'm not sure this will work for trane, but I have used this method on other systems with success.

You "should" be able to call BASD in St. Paul 1-800-TRACER1 and if you tell them you are the IT guy for whoever company owns this Tracer and tell them you had a hard drive crash they should be able to give you a new access code and be done in 5 minutes.

BUT we all know how things can go, I had a customer who had the same problem as yours and when I called BASD I made the mistake of being honest and told them who I was, they punched my name in the computor and had a do not support flag next to my name and that the customer would HAVE to call the local office, I tried telling the guy I didnt need support just a new registration code but to no avail. Ended up the local office came out and GAVE the guy a new workstation to try and get his business back, then screwed up all the graphics when they tried to reload them, I had a copy of everything but didnt tell them that, after they left I straightened it up, good luck.
    If you dont stand behind our troops, please feel free...........to stand in front of them.