Hello all, I'm a new tech and I have a question about union rates. I am not attempting to start a union debate. I live in the 787 (Ontario) local.

When you hire on at a union shop as a refrigeration mechanic or apprentice, is there extra money for carrying your gas licenses? I work non-union for more money then union apprentices, due to my gas/oil licenses, and I was wondering if there was money added on to your union rate for having those licenses. Any info would be great!

TR23

Hmm

Because it's a refrigeration union there is no added rate for your gas license. Many of our members don't do gas so they don't require a fitters license. It's been a topic of debate in regards to guys that have there refrigeration license and gas 1. But the way the union looks at it is your added money comes from job security, as where some refrigeration guys might be laid off in the winter. Personally I think a G1 should get more but that's just my opion.
    refrigeration workers of Ontario

By the way how do you know you make more than union apprentices, and are you including in pension and 10% vacation pay?

I know what the union rates are, for journeymen and apprentices, however I did not calculate vacation pay, pension or compare the benefit packages. I'm sure with these things in view the union apprentices would be equal or ahead of myself. In any case, I am interested in learning more about the union, and especially the excellent apprenticeship and training program I've heard 787 offers.

Well 787 apprentices have manditory night school for 4 years (or home study if you are from out of town.) There are courses going on almost every weekend if you want to take them. The topics range from centrifugal teardowns to BAS courses. As well we do all the TSSA brazing certification in house. Our trainers even do stuff out of town as long as there are enough people to make a class.