Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76

    Sizing a freezer

    I have a customer who wants to increase the tonnage on his walk in.currently it has a 7.5 ton & 5 ton the dimensions are 70' x 20' x 10' he s wanting to replace the 7.5 with a 10 ton. it s a meat locker they try and hold it at -10.the 5 ton is actually a back up to the 7.5. I m not experienced in sizing freezers. 10 tons = 120,000BTU/hr. From 8am to 5pm there s alot of traffic from customers so the rate of air change is triple that of normal walk ins. I guess what I m wanting to know is the formular for sizing the equipment. 14,000 ft/3 , @ 90 degree outside ambient, -10 to 0 range.any help would be appreciated.
    Blessed is he who expects nothing, for he shall never be disappointed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    489
    Try this for starters. A proper load calculation needs to be done or you will likely just be spinning your wheels.

    http://www.uscooler.com/?q=refrigera...izing-estimate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Plainfield IL
    Posts
    101
    You know how I size my freezers for the most part, I call Mike Mcgovern at United Refrigeration in Bensenville IL. at 630-521-9100. He will ask you questions like the surrounding box air temps, Type of door way, cooler panel thickness, Foam type, ect. He's good. They are very nice and helpful.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    719
    Quote Originally Posted by modestmouse View Post
    I have a customer who wants to increase the tonnage on his walk in.currently it has a 7.5 ton & 5 ton the dimensions are 70' x 20' x 10' he s wanting to replace the 7.5 with a 10 ton. it s a meat locker they try and hold it at -10.the 5 ton is actually a back up to the 7.5. I m not experienced in sizing freezers. 10 tons = 120,000BTU/hr. From 8am to 5pm there s alot of traffic from customers so the rate of air change is triple that of normal walk ins. I guess what I m wanting to know is the formular for sizing the equipment. 14,000 ft/3 , @ 90 degree outside ambient, -10 to 0 range.any help would be appreciated.
    If you are saying the customer currently has a 5 HP and 7.5 HP compressor, he most certainly does NOT have a 5 ton and 7.5 ton systems.

    Best to check the compressor capacity chart and see what your actual capacity is. You will find for your application it quite different than 1 HP per ton.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    11,986

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    76
    Thanks everyone
    Blessed is he who expects nothing, for he shall never be disappointed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    S. Grand Prairie
    Posts
    244
    I usually do the load calcs myself but anytime I'm not sure, I stop by United (sort of like Fridge Repairer) and they have a form you can fill out and they will get the proper equipment spec'd out for you.

    I use the Heatcraft program:

    http://proselect.heatcraftrpd.com/he...13531708787439
    Originally Posted by ladyfire3374:

    "I used to wake up excited about the challenges of the day. Now the anticipation level is somewhere between a root canal and a colonoscopy."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event