Lennox Efficiency 21 AC - Complete

I'm a developer, owner and bought a Lennox efficiency 21 unit in Colombia/South America. It was offered to me as a better and more efficient option compared to the carrier infinity series seer 21 as well. Teh contractor installed the condenser unit XC21-060-230-03, and the air handler unit 26UH-060 with a white Rogers blue touch 5-2 Thermostat. Unit worked ok, but didn't feel that cool. Climate is like Florida in summer but like 10 times more humidity. Needed another unit for another apartment and the same contractor wasn't available, got the carrier and got to compare. Not apples with apple. The Lennox didn't have variable speed nor a communicating thermostat. New contractor said combination is not recommended by Lennox and suggest changing handler to 32MV-060 with an Icomfort touch communication thermostat. Now condensing unit doesn't communicate and equipment still not apple to apple. Electricity bill reduced significantly, but still have questions in need of honest and knowledgable answers to finish improvement and future purchases. Important: both contractors lack full knowledge of variable speed, humidity management, English language and proper thermostat configuration since this is not the US. I basically end up translating. Regret not inquiring online before purchase due to all I have read and know now.

1)Which is Better? Lennox or carrier seer 21 both with variable speed and communication units? Just curious. Noticed carrier was more complete for the price I was offered

2) Lennox tech said icomfort doesn't communicate with condensing model XC--060-230-03, when setting up thermostat. It was set up as a two stage at 70% for first stage. Can it be upgraded with a chip to communicate? Is it solar ready as a very promising possibility. Electric bills here are double than in the US or more. Will it improve something in the unit and by what percentage can it be expected? More efficiency?