Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    I'm concerned that first stage efficiency on 90% furnaces is less than 90%. On my own 90% furnace I have compared second stage increase in temperature rise and the cfm increase against the first stage. I am not a pro, but my tests indicate that the furnace is actually delivering 53% more heat on second stage while consuming only 47% more BTUs.(68,000 to 100,000).This plausible only if the first stage is performing less than 90%, more like 78-80%.

Since manufacturers state that 90% furnaces run on first stage 80% of the time,I called the furnace manufacturer's technical department and inquired about efficiency on first stage. The answer was that they don't know! Wanna bet? Their concern is meeting 90% efficiency on second stage only under laboratory conditions.

So, based on my time consuming, but not necessarily laboratory level testing; are professionally sized 90% single stage furnaces that are always on high stage the most efficient?

What were your tests?

You would need to know the actual BTUH input versus the BTUH output in both cases. You would need to know the actual manifold pressures, gas values, airflow and some other stuff.

Can you explain how you got to your numbers?

I haven't heard of any manufacturer stating that the low fire stage on a 90+% is 90+%, they carry that rating only for high fire.

As doc points out, your furnace could be underfired in first stage, and over fired in second stage.

Did you clock the meter for both stages.

Depending where you had your probe in the supply, it may not have been good air flow on first stage.

Did your installer set it up when they installed it, or just turned on the switch and left.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?