Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    149

    Scotsman CME1356AS-32F

    I have been dealing with this scotsman for a while now. Its an intermittent issue that I think I have caught it in the act. For about 6 months this machine would produce ice fine for about 3 weeks and then stop, I would go to the location, reset it and then it would work fine. this went on for about 6 months. Now it seems like its not getting enough water because it harvests really thin ice. What I have done so far:
    -Cleaned entire machine with chemicals
    - Checked water inlet valve screen for scale
    - Changed water filters
    - Float sensor was changed out 6 months ago
    - Dump valve is not leaking by
    - no water is falling into bin
    - Ran machine in test mode (passed)
    - checked voltage from board to water inlet valve (good)
    - cleaned eyes on water level sensor
    In my experience working on these, at the start of the freeze the water pump will stop, and then start again and I could have sworn that the water inlet would energize and let some more water in. It is not doing this. I have called the factory and they seem to think that the wiring harness from the control board to the float sensor is bad. Has anyone ever experienced this. I am pretty sure that its just not getting enough water into the machine but I want to be sure. The only thing that it could be as far as i know is the float sensor or the control board. Let me know, Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    259
    These machines can be quite erratic. The board is the likely candidate as I've changed 10 boards for every water level control. If you are not getting any error codes and the machine is shutting down it is almost for sure the board.
    If it has a universal board make sure the setting on the dial is correct for the model.

  3. #3
    What color is the controller? The current one is blue.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    149
    It is a blue CM3 universal set on 4 which is correct for the model. Just went back there today and its full of ice, cubes dont seem big enough but the manager said that they seemed normal to her. I just wish Scotsman had better literature like Manitowoc and Hoshi. I cant stand calling the factory to ask questions on things I should be able to find in a book. It did have an error code, If I can remember correctly it was a leaking by water valve error, which wasnt happening, and a long freeze cycle which whould make sense if the valve was leaking by. Im guessing that if I replaced the control board and the wiring harness this issue would go away. But I hate guessing, I like to know. Thanks for the response guys.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Woodbridge Twp, NJ
    Posts
    1,307
    Every customer you take for granted today will be someone else's tomorrow.

  6. #6
    You can access all of Scotsman's manuals. Go to www.scotsman-ice.com, click on Sales and Service, and then click on manuals. You do not need a log-in. Just like Manitowac.
    The machine would have to be off and the water diagnostic light would be on solid, (not flashing), if you were getting a water valve leaking thru ERROR.
    If you could tell me exactly what code you were getting and weather the machine was on or off, that would help.
    The harvest is intiated by the float on this model.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    149
    The error codes have changed every time I have gone out. But the error code i saw last made no sense, and i know for sure that it said leaking water valve in the book so maybe it was solid. bottom line: When it is in freeze and then after a couple of minutes the water pump shuts off briefly, then comes back on and it should fill with water again, but its not doing that. Thats why the cubes are small. Is this a harness issue, board, or float sensor. float sensor was changed roughly 4 - 6 months ago. thanks for your help

  8. #8
    You said you were getting power to the inlet valve. If this is true when the pump restarts during freeze, and water is not flowing into the sump, then the inlet valve is defective or you don't have good water flow to the machine. You need to have close to 2.7 GPM for this model.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    149
    Im getting power to valve at start up, then after water pump restarts its not calling for the valve to open. I have read and heard that the valve should fill up 16 oz in 3 seconds, did that test and it did fill in 3 seconds. the fact that its not filling the second time tells me that the float sensor is not in the right position for it to call for a second fill. This is why I say the only thing it could be is the harness, float sensor, or board. This is why I love this job.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Memphis TN USA
    Posts
    6,945
    did you clean the float sensor eyes?

    I had one acting up like this. The connection @ the soleniod was bad. I always push on the wires @ connectors
    If the superheat ain't right it ain't charged right.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    NW Iowa
    Posts
    46
    does it have a dedicated water line? sometimes if the water line is tied into something else too, while that is running it could be starving it of all the water it needs to freeze properly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event