Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    My background is mechanical, from childhood. I built every car I drove as a teen. My dad thought you should understand it if you operated it. He was a wise man. He was a farmer and old windmill mechanic.
    If it was broke, he could fix it.

My background in HVAC started at Friedrich back in the 1920s when my uncle worked at the factory in San Antonio, TX. Several of his children later became involved in the business also, either in production or servicing the new industry. Seems I was destined for this field.

I began work in the HVAC industry full time 1970. I have done primarily commercial service and install all of my career.

My first water cooled machine was a Trane Redi-Power system. This little jewel featured an Internatial Harvester, natural gas fired six-banger. Never new if you were going to tune up the engine or troubleshoot a refrigeration problem.

First chiller was an old redwood ice-storage tank at a church. Serpantine 1 iron pipe evaporator submerged in an open loop water tank, air cooled condenser. Three tank flanges on the bottom of the resovoir, with zone pumps, served by a belt drive Schnake Compressor on R-12.

Those were the good ole days. I miss them.

I certainly do not want to sound like I think I am ALL That, as I am not. I have learned a lot here in the past few months reading here, and know I will continue to learn. There is a lot of knowledge gathered here on a daily basis, and I plan on using that to my advantage. I may not post much, but believe me, I read a lot.

Thanks to you ALL.

Regards........

I figured you for new to the field,

air conditioning in the 1920's ?

rich Texans.

Friedrich founded 1883

Welcome Aboard

So you're like a 100 ??

Welcome home dude.

Originally posted by mattm
    So you're like a 100 ??

Welcome home dude.
    more like 1000 yrs old

Tried to sneek in the back door eh?