Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 28
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17

    I have an Trane XL15i Heat Pump

    I have an Trane XL15i Heat Pump, XV95 Gas Furnace, and a ComfortlinkII thermostat.

    The first night the dual-fuel system was supposed to switch over to gas, it did switch over, but an System Alert - Error 140.01 popped up on the thermostat. Two days later HVAC technician came out and said the error meant a switch on the relay panel wasn't set to dual-fuel, but in fact it was. He flipped the switch off/on, reset the system and the error disappeared. Two nights later, it was cold enough for gas to turn on and the error popped up again. I'm going to call the technician again Monday.
    Last edited by beenthere; 11-06-2011 at 10:02 AM. Reason: Un-needed opinion.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,330
    Here is your thread.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North East Ohio
    Posts
    776
    Is there a question here?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,316
    Why is the error popping up?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Yeah, the question is I don't know how to fix the 140.01 error. I will be calling the tech tomorrow and will post what I find out.

    I had written more on the original thread, but it was deleted and then modified. The subject used to be more relevant than what the mod re-named it too.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    I really wish the mods would change back my thread title to what it was orginally - the one they changed it to doesn't give any members an idea of what the thread is specifically discussing.

    "Trane Dual-Fuel - ComfortlinkII System Status Error 140.01"

    Update: Since getting the same error again after it was supposedly 'fixed'. I had the technician come back out yesterday evening and he called their Trane Specialist contact because he had already tried his best guess to fix it.

    The Trane Specialist said that this is a known issue, a glitch in the relay panel that sends the error to the thermostat when the Heat-Pump goes into defrost mode. The system apparently works fine although when this error pops up, the thermostat becomes very finicky - touchscreen calibration goes haywire and I've had difficulty connecting to any WIFI. So the technician said that when Trane figures out a fix, he will let me know....but they had no estimate of when that will be.

    He also made sure to tell me that I need to sign his Service Call form so that they can send it to Trane and their company would be reimbursed by Trane for the Service Call. Cool, I'm glad they are getting reimbursed - but I have had to take the time off work for each one of these service calls. So I guess Trane can put a product out with known issues and the early adopters that were 'sold' on this excellent product just have to deal with all the kinks that need to be worked out. I'm not a very happy customer at the moment.

    I wonder if there are other homeowners with the same 140.01 error that bullethead and I both had....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,330
    Quote Originally Posted by bentleyvt View Post
    I wonder if there are other homeowners with the same 140.01 error that bullethead and I both had....
    If there are. Because of the AOP forum rules. They are not allowed to post in this thread about it. if they did, their post would be deleted.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    2,001
    I am not on my work computer right now but I have left attached my Trane bulletin on how to correct the issue in the other thread about this. I will attach it here tomorrow as well.
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,773
    SkyHeating,

    Both instances of your bulletin were deleted due to detailed DIY information.


    Maybe just post the bulletin # so that the OP can inform his service contractor of it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    2,001
    The bulletin is just the number of the error 140.0.1
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,773
    There you are, Bentleyvt.

    Contact your service provider and ask them to review the bulletin 140.01 and perform the required service on your unit.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for the information guys. I contacted my HVAC tech's this AM and let them know that I found some information online that referred to a Service Bulletin about the error.

    Their response was, "You are correct, Trane is aware of the issue and they are working on a solution. There needs to be a software update and that should be issued in the next few days. We will contact you when that is available."

    So then what was the bulletin that was posted solve? It seems like my Tech is saying its a software issue, not a wiring issue like the bulletin...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    17
    My HVAC company *promised* to call me either Monday or Tuesday because Trane was going to issue the 'update' one of those days but I have not received any phone call.

    Have any of the professional members installed a Trane XL950 ComfortlinkII thermostat with a dual-fuel system? My installer said the error pops up when the HP goes into defrost mode. I'm wondering if other HVAC companies are experiencing the same issues with the system configuration and do not have an issue solved yet.

    I kind of feel at the mercy of my installer, which was reputable, but after having to come back to 1) twice to install the OD thermometer, 2) replace a faulty XL950, 3)read an error, think they fixed it, 4) read the same error and blame Trane and 5) just the other day I realized the electrical outlet they so nicely installed at the HP outside doesn't have any power, 6) will be another future visit to fix the 140.01 error...I'm a little worried about the long-term quality of the system.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event