Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Looking for more detailed info on open loop design concerns, especially plumbing issues. I have been studying geothermal for 5-6 years casually as I designed, engineered and finally built my own house over the last few years - 1500 sq ft ( plus basement) log home in rural central NY. I am at the point now where I seem to know as much as the local HVAC contractors I've spoken with - residential geothermal has not taken off here at all, which really frustrates me. Other heating options are basically limited to oil, propane or electric - winter temperature range is not good for an air source heat pump, and lots of rocks and roughly total rock at the 4 ft mark makes closed loop install problematic/expensive. I have 2 existing drilled wells on the property, good separation from each other. Great and clean water flow from one (20+GPM), will check the other for handling discharge rate this spring when the water table is high. I will also do a thorough water chemical analysis this spring, but wanted to start tentative plans for a system install, and cannot locate any sites which give more than cursory details about open source, would appreciate any helpful advice on where to look. I know that unit longevity can be a big issue, but with good unit pricing ( relatives in the business) and no additional expenses beyond the second water line install, the cost benefit of putting in an open loop seems quite good if I design well and implement correctly. I'd be looking at a 3 ton unit, most likely a Trane.
    Thanks in advance for any help!