Frown

We just had the worst service call of all time. They came to do a yearly service on our York 130 btu furnace and we had never had any problems with our dual floor system before. He mentioned to us that how is that we have had heat upstairs, and we told him there was no problem with our vents. He mentioned he made an adjustment but would need lots of work to fix things but we told him there was nothing wrong. A day after the service, our upstairs vents stopped working. He says the damper is sticky and needs to be replaced but we did not believe him as it worked fine before he was here.

My question is how can we examine the damper in our system. Where is the damper, how do we locate it and is it easy to replace on our own? If not, what is the type of cost for replacing something like this for one part of the dual floor system? We were told over XXX-XXX which we thought was criminal. Any help would be appreciated as I am a complete novice with this York system and heating furnaces.

>>>edit...

(No pricing, due to site rules )

[Edited by jultzya on 01-29-2006 at 08:35 AM]

Is it at all possible that the tech actually did find something wrong? It happens to me all the time. I find all kinds of things that the customer didn't know about (and didn't want to know about for that matter). He was probably just being thorough and doing his job. If you're concerned that he purposely "broke" your damper, you might want to get a 2nd opinion.

Trust....

Well... Id be wondering just what sort of adjustments he made...he might have broken something...or there is the possiblilty that it broke itself just as a coincidence.

Get someone else if you dont trust him..get recomendations from friends neighbors etc...