Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 40 to 50 of 50
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    21
    People should trust their mechanical contractor and before they pick one, they should do a bit of background checking. References, licensing the BBB, etc, make sure the job includes an inspection by the city or state agency covering mechanical work.

    The customer has to take on the responsibility of doing a bit of homework in picking a quality mechanical contractor.

    You can find (online) more research on which coffee maker to buy, before the purchase is made, than on which contractor to use.

    In the case of mechanical contractors, most of the research is done after the purchase was made, not before.

    In addition you can always get a second professional onsite opinion.

    There are not enough facts known.
    It is like asking how much is 2+2+3+?+?+?

    Answer unknown, without knowing the value of each of the ?

    The only way to get the value of each of the ? Is by an onsite evaluation by a professional.

    There are a lot of different issues that could be addressed in this particular thread. The discussion can be fun and interesting and maybe somewhat informative, but no final accurate diagnosis can be made though this forum on this question, hence the reason I stated more than once.

    To diagnosis any possible problems, get a professional onsite (onsite) evaluation.
    Ignorance is the lack of knowledge, Stupid is the lack of ability to gain knowledge.

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    25
    I did the homework. This is supposed to be one of the best contractors in the area. They claim to have 2000 installs a year, been in business for 50 years, and have only 1 complaint in BBB for last 3 years. This complaint is for advertisement. Their salesmen was looking professional and knowledgeable. I'll call on Monday and try to resolve everything peacefully.

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,981
    It is always possible that someone simply made a mistake. It happens.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  4. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    648
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by RoBoTeq
    There is technically no such thing as a 5 ton evap or any specific capacity evap for that matter. Capacity is only determined by the condensing unit or heat pump capacity. [/QUOTE


    Every evap has a btu capcity, no? I mean I certainly wouldn't be able to use any size coil in any application.
    There are btu limits on every coil<----FACT.
    If the situation was reversed, and he had a 5-ton cond. unit and evap rated for 42,000 btu's he might have a more serious issue. This situation all depends on the metering device. If he has a txv rated at 42,000 btu's in a coil rated for 60,000 btu's, there's a good chance that the coil will be starved, especially under a heavy load. I agree that this depends on numerous factors. The system capacity certainly isn't determined by the evap coil, but there IS, in fact a such thing as a 5-ton coil. 5-ton, meaning the coil can handle 60,000 btu's.

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,981
    Try to keep up Matt. That issue has been gone over every which way possible. An indoor coil is simply a container that depends on the capacity of the outdoor unit to determine what the capacity of the system is.

    There are applications where a coil designated for a nominal 42,000 Btu will be compatible with a 5 ton outdoor unit. It all depends on how the manufacturer decides to designate each indoor coil. The numbers are a very basic guideline that only pertain to the nominal capacity of whatever outdoor unit each indoor coil is being designated to match and can change dramatically up or down depending on the efficiency of the outdoor unit.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  6. #45
    Originally posted by steelerss
    Friend of mine has a 5 Ton Evap. with a 3.5 ton condenser.The house is 2800 sq. Ft. with two T-stats driving two dampers. One damper is for the upstairs and the other is for the downstairs. there's not a problem with heating the house in the winter months, but in the summer on days above 90 F the condenser runs all the time he can't get the temp below 80 F. The way this unit works is if the temp is warmer upstairs the damper will close for the downstairs so you will not have any condition air flow to the downstairs until the temp of the upstairs is lower. Then the downstairs damper will open and the upstairs will close its damper so basically means only one damper can be open at a time which bring me to my question is that why they have a 3.5 ton condenser because of lack of air flow across the coil? so they under sized the condenser with refrigerant less volumn? IF I would put a 5 ton condenser in would the evap freeze up because of choked supply? The furnace has a 20" return Need help Thanks
    yes putting a 5 ton condenser would freeze up the coil need at least 10x 24 return duct if not more

  7. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    25
    Originally posted by RoBoTeq
    It is always possible that someone simply made a mistake. It happens.
    Contractor will replace 2TTR3036 condenser with R410A unit. Is anything special needs to be done to the coil since it was pressurized with R22?

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McQueeney, Texas
    Posts
    4,035
    lucky777- No, according to my books,the indoor coil is a R410a coil.
    The oil in a r22 system is not compatible with the oil in a r410 system.
    I really hate to dig this up, but if the system was run, there is residual oil in the coil and lines from the r22 unit. Too much can shorten the systems life. Get a good parts and labor warranty on the system or ask about the possible problems to the contractor.

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,981
    You are correct; the oil is a problem.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    25
    This sucks... I'll ask for new coil and lines. Guess when I had this system installed? 1/13 and it was Friday. Tell me about bad luck...

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Burleson, Texas
    Posts
    1,741
    IMO--On the evaporater issue, The sensible heat ratio is the only thing you are changing if you have a cond unit with one size coil vs the same cond unit with another size coil..The total capacity is the same...

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event