Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    4

    2 condensers, one evaporator

    Can I replace a 10 ton single circuit, AC only condensing unit with two 5 ton split systems condensers?
    I have a situation where I cant replace the existing R-22 evaporator and a R22 condensing unit is not available.
    I plan on running the units in tandem. What controls should I have to make this work? How can I ensure proper and equal oil return? The old unit is 230V 3phase, 5/8 LL and 1 3/8 suction line.
    Any input would help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,613
    I wouldn't. Get a matched 2 circuit coil. Otherwise, may have to use solenoids or checkvalves to aim refrigerant the right direction.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    Buy a Goodman 10ton R-22 condenser.
    Saving the world...one service call at a time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mesquite Tx.
    Posts
    375
    One of the compressors will end up with all the oil. Then you know what happens to the other one.
    Nos operor non pensio volutabrum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MEXICO
    Posts
    475
    the dual-circuit evaporator?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Down by the river
    Posts
    1,692
    you can replace it with 2- 5 ton systems twinned into the same duct.
    It's hard to stop a Trane. but I have made one helluva living keeping them going.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    4
    Checked with Goodman he in MD. No 10 ton R22 units available. The evaporator I have is a 3 circuit horizontal coil in a section of duct being used for a process. Changing that coil is not an option at this time. I'm thinking if I split the piping even between the two units, put check valves in the liquid lines, and install crankcase heaters, this might work. If only I could install a oil equalization linebetween the compressors.... Thoughts?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Kaufman county, Texas
    Posts
    10,493
    I am having a hard time believing you cannot get a 10 ton condenser, might need to make some more calls.

    If you really cannot, can you repair the old one in any way? What is wrong with it?
    "You boys are really making this thing harder than it has to be". Me

    "I say we just nuke them from space, that is the only way to be sure". Winch from ALIENS, forgot her name.

    Service calls submitted after 3PM will be posted the next business day.

    I give free estimates [Wild Ass Guesses] over the phone.

    My front door is locked. For your personal protection.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    Quote Originally Posted by FitterTom View Post
    Checked with Goodman he in MD. No 10 ton R22 units available. The evaporator I have is a 3 circuit horizontal coil in a section of duct being used for a process. Changing that coil is not an option at this time. I'm thinking if I split the piping even between the two units, put check valves in the liquid lines, and install crankcase heaters, this might work. If only I could install a oil equalization linebetween the compressors.... Thoughts?
    I JUST BOUGHT ONE about three weeks ago.

    Call the Capitol Heights branch.
    Saving the world...one service call at a time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    MEXICO
    Posts
    475
    which is the current model or brand of your machine?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,923
    Quote Originally Posted by FitterTom View Post
    Checked with Goodman he in MD. No 10 ton R22 units available. The evaporator I have is a 3 circuit horizontal coil in a section of duct being used for a process. Changing that coil is not an option at this time. I'm thinking if I split the piping even between the two units, put check valves in the liquid lines, and install crankcase heaters, this might work. If only I could install a oil equalization linebetween the compressors.... Thoughts?
    Please don't do it. Please don't try it. You will give HVAC a bad name.

    Customer WILL HAVE to spend the money. Else, back off.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    4
    Wow. Goodman in Frederick has a 10 ton condensing unit. I checked a few weeks ago and none were available. Problem solved, thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event