+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1 Damper 2 Furnaces?

Post Likes

1 Damper 2 Furnaces?

My boss ask if two furnaces can control one damper independantly. I have not seen the job but was told there is one fresh air inlet that is piped into two seperate furnaces via the return duct. This air damper is to open, only when at least one of the two furnaces are running, does not matter which, and to be open when both are running. The furnaces are not twined, each have a seperate T-Stat and control different rooms. How can I control this damper with two furnaces, but not to back-feed to the furnace that is off?

Thanks, Keith

I'm an HVAC/R service Tech! Just have not got enough post to be pro yet.

Post Likes
    ive never seen it done that way Keith , but hey i have never piloted a plane either........

im interested in knowing WHY this is done in the first place?

seems to me that something isn't kosher.
    why would one expect two separate furnaces to share a duct system , especially if they aren't twinned?

keep us posted.
    catch a man a fish , feed him for a day.
    teach a man to fish , ruin a good business opportunity.

Post Likes
    Relay!

Post Likes
    Use a 24v open, spring return damper actuator.

Use a current switch on the blower common wire for each furnace and wire the switches in parallel using 24 volts from somewhere. Just make sure the transformer has enough va to stroke the damper actuator..

When one of the two blowers, or both are on, it closes the current switch(s) and commands the damper to open..

nice and easy.

Im sure more people will chime in with different solutions, theres more than one way to skin a cat.

Post Likes
    power the OA motor drive direct then add one relay per boiler 24V coil N.O. contacts in stacked series with the hot wire motor voltage either or will drive it on a heating call..if the boilers are commercial size you might have dry N.O. contacts within the control panel there