Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Question TPI-708 Combustion Analyzer (questions about readings)

1st off Hi all!

I just got home and went to my PC to look online for some answers about the readings I have just gotten off an Armstrong 90+ 2-stage furnace. I then saw this forum after I googled and thought I'd see what you all might be able to help with, as far as some answers.

Here's what happened...
    The local energy company was on this job and did a CO reading from the outside 2" PVC outlet vent. And then told the customer that the CO was higher on this furnace than it was on any other he had done that to (why he is doing this I don't know but I can only assume it's to make it look like he's doing something and might justify the bill he gives the customer). So after hearing the phrase "High Carbon Monoxide" the customer flipped and called us (the one's who installed it). Keep in mind this is only outside off the venting that he gets "high" carbon monoxide readings.

I am new to the business I work for. But I have been doing heating/cooling for the last 5 years. My employer had purchased a TPI-708 Combustion Analyzer, basically it's an efficiency tester and CO/Temp reader. Hopefully a few of you here have used them or are familiar with them as I am new to them. Since I'm new to this tool, I decided to test a couple of the 90+ furnaces that my employer has heating the shop and offices, as to get an idea of what to expect on readings. I also did test out another furnace as part of a clean & check. I figured the more furnaces I test with this thing the better so I can gauge the readings and to do a compare and contrast between them all. Plus to see if this thing was worth the money or if it was a waste of time and money. And also whether or not this last job (the one that the energy company said was high CO is "normal" or if something else is going on.

Below are the readings I got from it and what furnace it was on.

Armstrong 90+ single stage: Nat Gas

O - 12.4%