Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 40 to 52 of 78
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,790
    Quote Originally Posted by Cooked View Post
    Wow, this thread went down in a hurry. Your replacement A.O. Smith should have worked fine, horsepower notwithstanding. Match the amperage, NEMA frame size, shaft length, rotation, air over and continuous duty cycle designation and the freakin capacitor. And like Jeremy said AN AXIAL FAN BLADE HAS TO BE PROPERLY POSITIONED IN THE SHROUD. Period!

    Always but always replace the freakin capacitor when changing a motor.
    A reminder......again.

    Only Pro members with the * can offer advice in the AOP forum.

    No regular members offering advice...no pros without the *, no new guests.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  2. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,790
    Let's review:

    1) we don't offer DIY advice, no matter what kind of member we are

    2) the OP should call a contractor

    3) the best idea is the correct motor and fan for the application


    Also, capacitor values are determined by the manufacturer for a particular design motor. You can have two nearly identical motors from two manufactures and they can use different value capacitors. You CANNOT replace a motor with anything other than the identical manufacturer motor and have any expectation that the cap being called for will be the same.

    To the OP: if the cap was not replaced when the AO Smith motor was installed, the value may not be correct. I urge you to not put yourself at risk, and have this situation assessed by a competent contractor.

    It just isn't worth injury or death by electrocution to try and make a personal statement about frugality or ability. Period.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  3. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Suppy NC
    Posts
    4,513
    since it is apparent your unit was out of warrenty i can understand why he put in an aftermarket motor
    hp isnt improtant since he went from 1/4 to 1/3 hp you are splitting hairs on that
    i believe in oem but have used aftermarket many times
    as long as he stayed within the rated amps on the new motor witch it would seem he did cant fault him for that
    what size cap was needed and what size was in there
    again splitting hairs IMO between 5 uf and 7.5 uf cap
    if the drain plug wasnt removed then this could be the reason the motor failed with in two years and having nothing to do with the cap
    have your tech replace the motor and caps or since the unit is almost ten years old get prices for new
    have been knocked on my but a few times by a charged cap even a small one so dont try it yourself they can kill you even if the power has been turned off

  4. #43
    is there a sub-forum where it is ok to ask:

    Can a unit which initially called for a motor with these specs:
    1/4 HP, 200-230/60/1, 825 RPM, CCW, 48 FRAME, FLA 1.9, LRA 3.65, TYPE PSC,

    be replaced by a motor with these specs:
    PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48

    or is that not enough information?

    (And secondly, being brand new here, when I read the "Ask a professional", I assumed this was the forum to ask my questions. I get the liability issue so for the record, my questions are strictly for educational purposes - I will not be installing anything myself. If there is an appropriate sub-forum, please direct me to it and I will continue there. Thanks again and apologies extended.)

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,034
    Quote Originally Posted by jmgregware View Post
    is there a sub-forum where it is ok to ask:

    Can a unit which initially called for a motor with these specs:
    1/4 HP, 200-230/60/1, 825 RPM, CCW, 48 FRAME, FLA 1.9, LRA 3.65, TYPE PSC,

    be replaced by a motor with these specs:
    PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48

    or is that not enough information?

    (And secondly, being brand new here, when I read the "Ask a professional", I assumed this was the forum to ask my questions. I get the liability issue so for the record, my questions are strictly for educational purposes - I will not be installing anything myself. If there is an appropriate sub-forum, please direct me to it and I will continue there. Thanks again and apologies extended.)
    wow guys, come on. give a straight answer. motor wise, it's fine. ao smith, rotom, mars, etc is the same. motor is motor, the only different perhaps is in the material quality used for the winding, components, and jacket design.

    If RPM spec is the same and if it fits, it fine. I go by RPM most of the time because the unit will need a specific amount of air going through it for the efficiency design. anything else then would go by what the motor call for capacitor and things like that.

    the generic one has more power but basically same voltage range. now, have you check if your voltage will dip below 200? or the hertz/cycle of the motor are correct? 50hz vs 60hz coz that play a factor. - that's a power company thing, not yours. nothing you could change. now, make sure the motor is approved/designed for outdoor. different motor is design for different thing.

    check if the motor still have warranty. being 2 years old, most likely not. some company only have 90 days warranty and perhaps a year manufacturer warranty if any. well, it's tough luck on your side. if the unit is old might as well bite the bullet and replace it if you could afford it. why the generic one failed? who knows... anything mechanical could break down with no tell tale sign.

    I normally replace the capacitor with a new motor. it's safer that way and cap is not that expensive. that cheap cap could take out expensive motor if it's out of tolerance/different value for what the motor needs. all that said, electric motor is pretty tough cookie and usually will run with no problem if there's a slight difference in capacitor value.

    now, I do not encourage DIY since most homeowner doesn't have clue what they're doing and it takes away from our income. leave it to us and leave your harbour freight tools tucked away nicely in its box. now go call your friendly neighbourhood HVAC professional and explain it to him what happened. that way he could look at different things that may play a factor on why the new motor failed in short time instead of focusing on just replacing it.
    Parts Changer Extraordinaire
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Have tools and gauges, will travel.

    RIDGID|YELLOW JACKET|UEI|TESTO|STANLEY|CPS|VETO| KLEIN|MILWAUKEE|MASTERCRAFT|

  6. #45
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    1,088
    Quote Originally Posted by triggerfish0890 View Post
    it would be easy to say that if the system was working good for 2 yrs on the generic motor--it will work the same with a replaced motor--motors are easy and you try to replace with the standard --but sometimes this is impossible--so u improvise--is the capacitor compatible--well it worked fine before motor broke down--so it will work good with replaced motor--capacitors are a standard--they usually are a 370 or 440---use one to big and motor will bind down--so what i'm saying just replace the motor by manufacuters specs and if you like u can switch capacitors has preventitive maint.and your done thats all folks
    A capacitors voltage can be reaplaced with one the same voltage rating, or any greater voltage as long as the MfD is correct for the motor. I only carry 440's on our residential service trucks, because it does not make sense to buy the 370's and then need a 440.
    Bad information is worse than no information at all.

    There are three kinds of people in this world. Those who can count and those who can't!

  7. #46
    Quote Originally Posted by blitz View Post
    wow guys, come on. give a straight answer. motor wise, it's fine. ao smith, rotom, mars, etc is the same. motor is motor, the only different perhaps is in the material quality used for the winding, components, and jacket design.

    If RPM spec is the same and if it fits, it fine. I go by RPM most of the time because the unit will need a specific amount of air going through it for the efficiency design. anything else then would go by what the motor call for capacitor and things like that.

    the generic one has more power but basically same voltage range. now, have you check if your voltage will dip below 200? or the hertz/cycle of the motor are correct? 50hz vs 60hz coz that play a factor. - that's a power company thing, not yours. nothing you could change. now, make sure the motor is approved/designed for outdoor. different motor is design for different thing.

    check if the motor still have warranty. being 2 years old, most likely not. some company only have 90 days warranty and perhaps a year manufacturer warranty if any. well, it's tough luck on your side. if the unit is old might as well bite the bullet and replace it if you could afford it. why the generic one failed? who knows... anything mechanical could break down with no tell tale sign.

    I normally replace the capacitor with a new motor. it's safer that way and cap is not that expensive. that cheap cap could take out expensive motor if it's out of tolerance/different value for what the motor needs. all that said, electric motor is pretty tough cookie and usually will run with no problem if there's a slight difference in capacitor value.

    now, I do not encourage DIY since most homeowner doesn't have clue what they're doing and it takes away from our income. leave it to us and leave your harbour freight tools tucked away nicely in its box. now go call your friendly neighbourhood HVAC professional and explain it to him what happened. that way he could look at different things that may play a factor on why the new motor failed in short time instead of focusing on just replacing it.
    Blitz - THANK YOU! I will suggest my HVAC guy replace the motor with an identical one BUT also replace the run capacitor as well. It is my understanding that the motor, (Motor, PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48) is matched to Run Capacitor, 7.5 MFD, 370 VAC, Oval and I will recommend both these things be considered for replacement.

    Would you recommend replacing the start capacitor as well and if so given this motor, what would you consider (if I can say, in the AO Smith line of products) as a proper start capacitor?

  8. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    tx
    Posts
    1,088
    Quote Originally Posted by blitz View Post
    wow guys, come on. give a straight answer. motor wise, it's fine. ao smith, rotom, mars, etc is the same. motor is motor, the only different perhaps is in the material quality used for the winding, components, and jacket design.

    If RPM spec is the same and if it fits, it fine. I go by RPM most of the time because the unit will need a specific amount of air going through it for the efficiency design. anything else then would go by what the motor call for capacitor and things like that.

    the generic one has more power but basically same voltage range. now, have you check if your voltage will dip below 200? or the hertz/cycle of the motor are correct? 50hz vs 60hz coz that play a factor. - that's a power company thing, not yours. nothing you could change. now, make sure the motor is approved/designed for outdoor. different motor is design for different thing.




    The stack on the Ao smith was shorter than the GE. MAkes a big difference.
    check if the motor still have warranty. being 2 years old, most likely not. some company only have 90 days warranty and perhaps a year manufacturer warranty if any. well, it's tough luck on your side. if the unit is old might as well bite the bullet and replace it if you could afford it. why the generic one failed? who knows... anything mechanical could break down with no tell tale sign.

    I normally replace the capacitor with a new motor. it's safer that way and cap is not that expensive. that cheap cap could take out expensive motor if it's out of tolerance/different value for what the motor needs. all that said, electric motor is pretty tough cookie and usually will run with no problem if there's a slight difference in capacitor value.

    now, I do not encourage DIY since most homeowner doesn't have clue what they're doing and it takes away from our income. leave it to us and leave your harbour freight tools tucked away nicely in its box. now go call your friendly neighbourhood HVAC professional and explain it to him what happened. that way he could look at different things that may play a factor on why the new motor failed in short time instead of focusing on just replacing it.
    Once again, a motor is not a motor, is not a motor. Have seen plenty of replacement motors with the same HP on the tag that had different amp draws, different stack depths etc. Put a 1/4 hp Aosmith to replace a 1/4 GE and you'll be back out there in a matter of months replacing it again because it burnt out. I had to learn this the hard way with having to warranty motors. Went to 1/2 hp AO smith with same amp draw, problem solved.
    Bad information is worse than no information at all.

    There are three kinds of people in this world. Those who can count and those who can't!

  9. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    greenville , sc
    Posts
    718

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by jmgregware View Post
    I have a 9 year old Trane XE-1000. About 2 years ago, a tech came out to the house because the fan motor was shot. He replaced it with a generic brand (AO Smith) which was fine until recently. Now it sometimes works sometimes doesnt. I just realized the motor is apparently NOT a generic brand of the same motor but rather a different motor with different horsepower altogether and the capacitor for that motor was NOT replaced. So I have the wrong capacitor matched to the wrong motor. Here are my questions:

    1) Can I replace the existing generic motor (1/3 hp) with the matching capacitor and all will be fine (and $ cheaper)
    or
    2) Is there a place I CAN buy an exact generic fan motor (Matching the original Trane motor) with matching capacitor and not have to pay the substantially higher cost for a direct Trane replacement

    The only other capacitor on my unit is the Start capacitor. I dont know if that has a bearing on the equation as well...

    Any help here on the forum or pm is appreciated... I am not a tech guy so I dont know much about it..

    the comments in red are the reason im not going to tell you why, what ,when
    to fix your equipment . be mad and take pop shots at me if you like , but the advice i did give was sound , not what you wanted to hear but true nonetheless so go ahead spend days or even weeks and maybe 10 time the money playing A/C contractor , ill admit it is fun......

    im not the kind of person who tries to start trouble and thats all im gonna say ....

    catch a man a fish , feed him for a day.
    teach a man to fish , ruin a good business opportunity.

  10. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    greenville , sc
    Posts
    718

    Thumbs down

    Quote Originally Posted by jmgregware View Post
    is there a sub-forum where it is ok to ask:

    Can a unit which initially called for a motor with these specs:
    1/4 HP, 200-230/60/1, 825 RPM, CCW, 48 FRAME, FLA 1.9, LRA 3.65, TYPE PSC,

    be replaced by a motor with these specs:
    PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48

    or is that not enough information?

    (And secondly, being brand new here, when I read the "Ask a professional", I assumed this was the forum to ask my questions. I get the liability issue so for the record, my questions are strictly for educational purposes - I will not be installing anything myself. If there is an appropriate sub-forum, please direct me to it and I will continue there. Thanks again and apologies extended.)
    try the "A's" in the phone book......

    A -mbulances

    A-ttourneys

    A- ccident reliefs

    catch a man a fish , feed him for a day.
    teach a man to fish , ruin a good business opportunity.

  11. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,790
    Quote Originally Posted by jmgregware View Post
    is there a sub-forum where it is ok to ask:

    Can a unit which initially called for a motor with these specs:
    1/4 HP, 200-230/60/1, 825 RPM, CCW, 48 FRAME, FLA 1.9, LRA 3.65, TYPE PSC,

    be replaced by a motor with these specs:
    PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48

    or is that not enough information?

    (And secondly, being brand new here, when I read the "Ask a professional", I assumed this was the forum to ask my questions. I get the liability issue so for the record, my questions are strictly for educational purposes - I will not be installing anything myself. If there is an appropriate sub-forum, please direct me to it and I will continue there. Thanks again and apologies extended.)

    The short answer is "no." We don't have a forum where DIY info is dispensed.

    You have gotten the answers we can give you.

    A reminder to other posters: you need a * in order to post advice in this forum.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Arnold mo
    Posts
    3,969
    Quote Originally Posted by jmgregware View Post
    Blitz - THANK YOU! I will suggest my HVAC guy replace the motor with an identical one BUT also replace the run capacitor as well. It is my understanding that the motor, (Motor, PSC, 1/3 HP, 825, 208-230v, 48) is matched to Run Capacitor, 7.5 MFD, 370 VAC, Oval and I will recommend both these things be considered for replacement.

    Would you recommend replacing the start capacitor as well and if so given this motor, what would you consider (if I can say, in the AO Smith line of products) as a proper start capacitor?
    It's, funny, several pro's with an * after their name instructed that matching the amperage is the most important thing when switching motors, and yet you take the one persons advice without an * after his name simply cause it makes you feel better about putting in the motor you want?
    The advice that all you have to worry about is matching the rpms is wrong.
    An answer without a question is meaningless.
    Information without understanding is useless.
    You can lead a horse to water............
    http://www.mohomeenergyaudits.com

  13. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,790
    To the OP

    IN FACT...

    the advice you should be seeking is the in-person advice of a qualified service professional.

    For the record: no homeowner should attempt the type of repair you are contemplating, UNLESS they have the training and experience to properly carry out such a repair.

    From your question, you do not fall into that category.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event