Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 57
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    45
    I have covered the entire rack outdoors. Condenser good. found 2 bad discharge service gasket on comps 3 & 4. replaced both. Check all seems on receiver, checked hold back valve, check high press relief valve, checked heat reclaim coil, accumulator, checked all welds and machine bent tubing for cracks, checked vibration eliminators and head press controls to see if those were leaking. and yes i covered inside very well. I offered to install new flooring but they declined my request lol

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    This is the point that I've been driving at.

    Particularly with the H-10, R404 leaks are harder to find. Use the highest sensitivity and follow every indication of a leak you get.

    Now, supposedly the Infrared sensor technology has a more consistent response to HFC/CFC/HCFC refrigerants. I'm still not convinced.
    I had it set to highest sensitivity. now my problem is that all tubing including liquid line are insulated. with the rate the refrigerant is leaking out it should have jumped out and bit me already lol

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    56
    Ive had the same problems at wal-mart. people before me looking for a leak with a H-10. Get yourself a TIF ZX and go try again . If you don't find anything start punching holes in the armaflex in the overhead or where ever you can and stick the detector in the hole. You will find it. I did this at a store where three people had looked for a leak for two months and found it on a liquid line in the overhead.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    366
    A leaking rupture disc(s) is/are commonly overlooked...

    pressure control bellows...

    maybe the leaking liquid cores and the service valve gaskets are it???

    this probably doesn't apply....but once had a subcooler from another rack leak into the other rack,and they were two different gasses.

    just throwing thing out there...

    let us know how it turns out...I feel your frustration...

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    56
    he's right I have heard of the subcooler leaking into another rack. Also put a balloon on the pop-off.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo,BC, Canada!
    Posts
    346
    I agree with what was said earlier you need to start isolating systems and pressureise with nitrogen I like to use 100 lbs because your low side gauge is calibrated in 1psi increments so you. Can see a change in pressure more quickly. To prevent the risk of getting nitrogen into the rest of the rack is cut the lines at the rack and cap them off for the pressure test! A coupling only costs a few bucks a lot cheaper than refrigerant. When you identify which circuit the leak is in add some r22 as a trace and leak check with your electronic leak detector, And it doesn't hurt to use a couple different leak detectors.

    Leak finding Is an art and takes Perservance !!!

    Good luck!
    Last edited by Frostmonkey74; 09-27-2011 at 10:19 PM. Reason: Fix misspelled words

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Nor-Cal
    Posts
    14
    I agree with airsmith I own a tif zx. Me and another senior tech were at a wal-mart and were leak checking and his h-10 did not pick up half the leaks the zx did. I have always trusted the h-10 until seeing this first hand. By the way, these was not as big as leaks as you are reporting, so it should be evan easier to find!!! Also, there is nothing wrong with scheduling to go in early in the AM when the hvac is shut down and listening with all the systems and fans and sterios and people and.... all off. This might help I have found many leaks just by listening when everyone is quiet , its a easy leak check. good luck.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    58
    Maybe step back, you said that yesterday you repaired 8 high side leaks. 6 liquid line schraders and 2 compressor discharge gaskets. It doesn't seem unreasonable that those 8 would pi$$ out 7 1/2 lbs. a day on a rack that holds what, 1500 lbs.
    You may already have it licked.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    45
    I thought I found them all too but we are still losing refrigerant. I'm getting ready now to begin leak checking again and my boss wants me to start pulling vacuum on each circuit to 300 microns and see if they reach mark and hold. I'm totally with cutting the lines after the ball valves but they wanna see if this works first. Also on a side note I did go buy myself a new leak detector this morning. New tif owner lol. Will keep progress posted. Thank you to everyone for all the advice. It is greatly appreciated

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    45
    Ok well a lil good news today. Seems like circuit#2 won't pull down past 1000 microns. Retyrning tomorrow to cut lines and nitro test with some R-22. Weird cuz I broke vacuum 4 times today and still wouldn't pull down. Will keep you posted.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vancouver , BC
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by rackguy813 View Post
    Ok well a lil good news today. Seems like circuit#2 won't pull down past 1000 microns. Retyrning tomorrow to cut lines and nitro test with some R-22. Weird cuz I broke vacuum 4 times today and still wouldn't pull down. Will keep you posted.

    I wouldnt soley rely on ball valves and other valves to hold 100% , at this point in time I would do as suggested and cut the lines and then do your testing.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by neumonic View Post
    I wouldnt soley rely on ball valves and other valves to hold 100% , at this point in time I would do as suggested and cut the lines and then do your testing.
    I agree but I have never had a ball valve bleed thru so far. Not saying it isn't possible because I know it is but so far it hasn't happened to me. Def gonna cut the lines and pressure test tomorrow.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vancouver , BC
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by rackguy813 View Post
    I agree but I have never had a ball valve bleed thru so far. Not saying it isn't possible because I know it is but so far it hasn't happened to me. Def gonna cut the lines and pressure test tomorrow.
    Well I wish you luck and hopefully you have narrowed it down. Its frusterating but you are better than the machine!

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event