I've been working in property maintenance for about 7 years.

I have about 6 years exp with repairing furnaces and 4-5 reapairing the mechanical and electrical portions of A/C, and 1 year with my EPA universal cert.

I know it sounds funny put like that, but for the first couple years, the company I worked for didn't want to invest in the equipment and training so just contracted out anytime an A/c seemed to have a refrigerant related problem.
    I think it was after a very expensive 2002 that my supervisor convinced the owners that he knew enough about A/c that if he got a big raise, he would do the work, and it would be cheaper for them. So in 2003 he took the epa test and after his second try got type 1 certified. That summer (2003) he tried to teach me what he knew, but that amounted to "beer can cold" and "because I said so" when I asked questions. I didn't think I could afford school, so I started reading books at the library and found this site.

In 2004 I was trying to understand some of the stuff I was reading and when I'd ask more specific questions and try to talk about the how's and why's I'd get "that's a stupid question, get all that tech book bull**** out of your head that isn't the way it is in the real world". I probly should have paid for the epa test myself that year and left, but things didn't work out that way.