Need help with dirty water in boiler

Hello all,

I have recently purchased a home that was not in use for about two years. The boiler was fully off when I arrived, when i switched the emergency switch to on, it fired up and eventually the system got warm. But, when i came back down to the basement I noticed the water in the level became black... it was white when I fired it up...

What cuases the dirt deposit and what is the proper procedure for cleaning this out? I am new to a radiator system, have used a forced air system in the past only. I read that flushing the water out and refilling is actually bad for the pump, is this the case?

Thank you for any help or insight you can offer me,
    -wally

You have stired up sediment. I would recomend to you to find a boiler company to service it and maintain it for you especially since it has been setting dormant. Each time water is added to the system the oxygen in the system will seperate out of solution and cause issues.

Have it cleaned and serviced, it is a pressure vessel that needs attention.

thank you for the advice, is it bad for the boiler to use it until I have a professional clean it out? It is getting chilly outside and am not sure when I will have someone check it out, but i do not want to cause any damage to it. The system is very new itself, only about 3 years, but was sitting unused.

I am

assuming this is a steam system. I would have a pro check the system ASAP paying particular attention to the pressure switch and low water cut-off device. I would not operate it until the boiler has been checked. These are both safety devices and if they fail, it could mean big trouble.
    GO NAVY, BEAT ARMY!

A DECADE OF DOMINANCE! +2